Books & more
Search our catalog for books, audio, video, government documents, special collections & more!
Reference Online
Start your research by collecting background information from online reference resources.
- Concise Oxford Dictionary of PoliticsPart of the Oxford Reference Online Collection.
- U. S. Census BureauUse the quick facts feature to find basic demographic information about your state, county, or city.
- CQ's Politics in America This link opens in a new windowAn essential resource for any collection that serves readers who want authoritative information on the members of the Congress. The profiles of the 535 members plus the delegates offer concise and candid analysis of personalities, political styles, legislative agendas, political ambitions, and reputations of members at home and on Capitol Hill. Detailed state and district information plus a wealth of information on campaign finance, partisan caucuses, standing committees, and other member data round out the book. Coverage runs from 2008-2018. Ceased publication in 2018. Does not include any information about the 116th Congress. You can view and search across all of our CQ resources here.
Reference Books
- Almanac of American Politics byCall Number: Ref. JK 1012 .A44 2014ISBN: 9780876450536Publication Date: 2014Published every 2 years, this publication provides a detailed look at members of Congress and their districts. Voting records and election results are included. This is similar to Politics in America but provides more background information. A second copy is kept On Reserve at the Shadek-Fackenthal reserve desk.
Guide to U. S. Political Parties by Call Number: Ref. JK 2261 .H54 2014ISBN: 9781452267807Publication Date: 2014
Encyclopedia of American Political Parties and Elections by Call Number: Ref. JK 2261 .S218 2006ISBN: 081605875XPublication Date: 2006- The Encyclopedia of the Republican Party; The Encyclopedia of the Democratic Party - 6 volumes byCall Number: Ref JK 2352 .K87 1997; 2002ISBN: 1563247291Publication Date: 1997; 2002
The Encyclopedia of Third Parties in America, 3 vols. by Call Number: Ref. JK 2261 .E474 2000ISBN: 0765680203Publication Date: 2006
A History of the U. S. Political System: Ideas, Interests, Institutions by Call Number: Ref. JK 31 .H57 2010 3 vols.ISBN: 9781851097135Publication Date: 2010- Guide to Congress, 6th Edition, byCall Number: Ref. JK 1021 .C565 2008 2 vols.ISBN: 9780872892958Publication Date: 2008
Guide to U. S. Elections, 6th Edition by Call Number: Ref. JK 1967 .C662 2010 2 vols.ISBN: 9781604265361Publication Date: 2010- America VotesCall Number: Ref. JK 1967 .A8 30 vols.Publication Date: 2014Election returns for President, Congress, and Governor, arranged by state. Published every 2 years.
