DISCOVER
Find Articles
Search the following databases to find scholarly articles about Shakespeare's plays. Remember to use keywords when searching library databases.
- MLA/Modern Language Association International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowComprehensive index of articles, book chapters and essays in literature, languages, and folklore. Features content published from the 1920s to the present.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new windowArticles and other text materials published in scholarly journals in the arts and humanities. Subjects covered are the Arts, Humanities, Language (including Linguistics), Poetry, Music, Classical works, History, Philosophy, Archaeology, Architecture, Religion, Television, Theater, and Radio. Covers 1975 to the present.
- JStor This link opens in a new windowA collection of full-text articles from over 3000 scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years. A growing number of titles are available through the current issues, as part of their "Current Scholarship Program". Select Advanced Search to strategically search amongst 45 disciplines. Choose PDF from within JStor to properly view and print articles. For convenience, JStor is now searchable on Facebook.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowProvides access to scholarly journals and eBooks in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Dates of coverage varies per title.
Search the following sources to discover scholarly articles on Shakespeare's plays.
- Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new windowAn extensive compilation of literary criticism.
On the Advanced Search page:
- Keyword: type in your theme or issue here
- Name of Work: type in the name of the play
- More options:
- Select: documents with full text
- by product/series: select:
- Drama Criticism, Literature Criticism 1400-1800,
Shakespearean Criticism
- Drama Criticism, Literature Criticism 1400-1800,
- by content type: Literature Criticism
- by document type: Essay
- MLA/Modern Language Association International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive index of articles, book chapters and essays in literature, languages, and folklore.
Search tips for MLA:
- Structure your search statements similar to those you used in the F&M catalog.
- Take advantage of the options to Refine Results
- Limit to: Exclude dissertations | Peer reviewed
Librarian
Connections Workshop Survey
Please fill out this short survey to help us make our workshops as useful as possible!
CLICK HERE to link to the Connections Course Library Workshop Survey.
Thank you for your feedback!
EZBorrow (EZB)/Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Use EZBorrow (EZB)/Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request articles, book chapters, books, and other materials not available at F&M.
