CPS 360: Machine Learning
- Library
- LibGuides
- CPS 360: Machine Learning
- News, Journalism, and Film Sources
News and Newspaper Resources
News articles can provide local and national reporting on the lived experiences of different communities. These databases contain new sources ranged from Lancaster, PA, to others around the world.
-
Access World News This link opens in a new windowExplore issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface.
-
Lancaster Online This link opens in a new windowOffers current and recent articles and full page images. Access also includes searchable full text, complete archives dating back to 1797. Note that users must access the archives content via the Archives page (click Archives, then Read Archives) on the lancasteronline.com website. Covers 1797 to the present.
-
NewsBank This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to major U.S. and international newspapers, including The Philadelphia Inquirer, The Philadelphia Daily News, The Chicago Sun-Times, and local Lancaster newspapers. Also includes newswires, transcripts, and U.S. small town newspapers. Coverage varies per title, with some dating back 50 years.
-
News Research (Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new windowFeatures a variety of news resources: newspapers, magazines, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blog and web publications, reviews, obituaries, and editorials. Dates of coverage varies per title.
-
U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowProvides access to: The New York Times (1980- present), The Wall Street Journal (1984- present), The Washington Post (1987- present), The Los Angeles Times (1985- present), and The Chicago Tribune (1985- present).
Film and Video Databases
These databases contain thousands of streamable films and documentaries on a wide array of topics.
-
Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new windowAcademic Video Online delivers more than 64,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. More than 17,000 titles are exclusive to Alexander Street. Curated for the educational experience, the massive depth of content and breadth of content-types (such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.) in Academic Video Online makes it a useful resource.
-
Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowComprehensive, curriculum-focused videos providing unlimited access to more than 40,000 full-length videos from National Geographic, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, HBO, PBS, BBC Worldwide Learning and more. Includes the Archival Films & Newsreels collection.
-
Kanopy This link opens in a new windowKanopy has more than 26,000 films in its collection - including leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, BBC, First Run Features, The Video Project, Media Education Foundation, Documentary Educational Resources, and more. Kanopy’s viewing platform makes it easy to watch, share and discuss films across our campus and at your own convenience.
-
Vanderbilt Television News Archive (1968- ) This link opens in a new windowOver one million video news segments, with searchable abstracts. The archive includes content from ABC, CBS, NBC, Fox News, CNN, and MSNBC. Covers August 5, 1968, to the present. No current material will be made available until at least 72 hours after the original broadcast.
Long-Form Articles
Long-form journalism is a branch of journalism dedicated to longer articles with larger amounts of content. Typically, this will be between 1,000 and 20,000 words. Long-form articles often take the form of a narrative or investigation and may focus intently on a specific subject or the journalists' experiences in researching the article and may bear a stylistic resemblance to a non-fiction book. This is in contrast to traditional news articles, which are typically briefer and focus on quickly summarizing a particular occurrence.
There is no one way to search for long-form articles as a whole, but many are indexed in Library databases, including JSTOR and Academic Search Complete, which are linked on the first page of this guide.
The following are several examples of high quality and long-form journalism sources that you can search directly using the links below:
-
The AtlanticAmerican magazine that features articles in the fields of politics, foreign affairs, business and the economy, culture and the arts, technology, and science. Access from 2007-present.
-
Bloomberg BusinessWeekAmerican magazine that offers insights, analysis, and reporting on the world of business, finance, technology, and global trends. Access 1929-present.
-
The EconomistBritish weekly newspaper printed in magazine format and published digitally. It focuses on current affairs, international business, politics, technology, and culture. May require Interlibrary Loan.
-
ForbesAn American business magazine, Forbes features articles on finance, industry, investing, and marketing topics. Access from 1918-present.
-
The London Review of BooksBritish literary magazine published bimonthly that features articles and essays on fiction and non-fiction subjects. Access 1979-present.
-
The New YorkerAmerican magazine featuring journalism, commentary, criticism, essays, fiction, satire, cartoons, and poetry. Although its reviews and events listings often focus on the cultural life of New York City, The New Yorker also produces long-form journalism and shorter articles and commentary on a variety of topics, has a wide audience outside New York, and is read internationally. Access from 2004-present.
-
The New York Review of BooksA magazine with articles on literature, culture, economics, science and current affairs. Published in New York City, it is inspired by the idea that the discussion of important books is an indispensable literary activity. Access via Interlibrary Loan.
-
The New York Times MagazineA magazine included with the Sunday edition of The New York Times. It features articles longer than those typically in the newspaper and has attracted many notable contributors. Access from 1996-present.
-
Rolling StoneAmerican monthly magazine that focuses on music, politics, and popular culture. Access 1990-present.
-
WiredAmerican magazine that focuses on how emerging technologies affect culture, the economy, and politics. Access 2008-2023.