AFS/AMS/MUS 270: Music Along the Mississippi
- Library
- LibGuides
- AFS/AMS/MUS 270: Music Along the Mississippi
- Newspapers and Magazines
Newspapers
- History Commons : Complete Collection of Historical American Newspapers, Books, and Journals This link opens in a new windowFormerly known as Accessible Archives. Primary source material from 18th and 19th century periodicals. Includes Godey's Ladies Book (1830-1880), Pennsylvania Gazette (1728-1800), Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective (1860-1865), African American Newspapers: The 19th Century.
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 by Newsbank This link opens in a new windowOne-of-a-kind record of African American history, culture, and daily life. Covers life in the Antebellum South through the Civil Rights movement and more.
- America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowFully searchable, cover-to-cover reproductions of early American newspapers including titles from all 50 present states. Includes: Early American Newspapers, Series 1 (1690-1876), Early American Newspapers, Series 2 (1758-1900) and Early American Newspapers, Series 3 (1829-1922).
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowHistorical access to the New York Times (1851-2015), Chicago Tribune (1849-1996), Los Angeles Times (1881-1995), Philadelphia Inquirer (1860-2001), and Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (1786-2003). Also features recent issues of the New York Times (2008- two months ago) and Wall Street Journal (2008- two months ago).
- NewsBank This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to major U.S. and international newspapers, including The Philadelphia Inquirer, The Philadelphia Daily News, The Chicago Sun-Times, and local Lancaster newspapers. Also includes newswires, transcripts, and U.S. small town newspapers. Coverage varies per title, with some dating back 50 years.
- U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowProvides access to: The New York Times (1980- present), The Wall Street Journal (1984- present), The Washington Post (1987- present), The Los Angeles Times (1985- present), and The Chicago Tribune (1985- present).
Magazines/Popular Periodicals
- Readers' Guide Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowIndexes over 200 popular U.S. general interest periodicals. Covers 1983 to the present.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive indexing of 500 of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. The complete database covers 1890 to 1982.
- Ebony Magazine Archive, 1945-2014Ebony is one of the key African-American magazines, covering current events, art, design, politics, culture, literature, advertising, and more. The archive contains indexing, abstracting and full text for the complete archive (including Covers and Advertisements). Note: Scroll down to select the Ebony Magazine Archive.
- JET Magazine Archive, 1951 - 2014JET Magazine Archive covers the civil rights movement, politics, education, and other social topics with an African American focus. It includes over 3,000 issues providing a broad view of news, culture, and entertainment. Note: Scroll down to select the JET Magazine Archive.
EZBorrow (EZB)/Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Use EZBorrow (EZB)/Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request articles, book chapters, books, and other materials not available at F&M.
Research Help
 |
 |
 |
 |