Digital Projects and Collections
Access to more than two million images of art and architecture from over 80 contributing cultural and scientific institutions from thirteen European countries.
The mission is to "further knowledge about the Black Diaspora in German-speaking Central Europe in order to challenge racialized presumptions about history, national belonging, and citizenship in the region."
Users can access the digitized cultural and scientific heritage of Germany. It contains digital versions of books, music, works of art, films, photographs, documents, and manuscripts from hundreds of archives, libraries, and museums.
Over 4 million images are available from the German Photographic Collection in the Saxon State and University Library Dresden.
A very large collection of Middle High German poetry.
Poems are read in their original languages and translations.
The recordings are from the collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Vidual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives. The sound recordings are available to the public free of charge. Under "Advanced Search" one can select by language.
Austria's largest library. Their Digital Reading Room includes collections on Austrian books, newspapers and journals, legal texts, photographs, postcards, a Beethoven digitization project, and more.
From Universität Bielefeld, portal to many digitized collections including journals of the Enlightenment, and children's and young adult literature.
Funded by Brigham Young University, this provides access to primary texts by 18th and 19th century German-language women authors.
The Digital Library of the Berlin State Library provides access to digitized books, manuscripts and other media from their holdings.
Digital Image of the Week
Deutsche Kinemathek. (c. 1910). Central-Kino-Theater, Chausseestraße (Berlin-Lichterfelde, formerly part of Greater Lichterfelde, an independent municipality), now Hindenburgdamnn 93a. [Photograph] Deutsche Kinemathek. https://www.deutsche-kinemathek.de/en/collections-archives/photographs-on-movie-theater-history-in-berlin (accessed February 16, 2024).
Learn how to cite resources and images here.