ENE 114: Earth, Environment & Humanity
An investigation of the Earth with emphases on the opportunities available to and the constraints upon humankind arising from properties of the Earth, and on the effects of human activities on the natural environment.
Science Databases
- General Science Full Text This link opens in a new windowAn index and full text database featuring subjects such as astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health & medicine, oceanography, physics, zoology and more.
Indexing from 1984 to present, full text from 1995 to present. - GeoRef This link opens in a new windowNearly 2 million records about geology and earth sciences. Covers 1785 to the present (North America) and 1933 to the present (entire world). Search via GeoScienceWorld or EBSCOHost.
- GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive internet resource for research and communications in the geosciences, built on a core database aggregation of peer-reviewed journals indexed, linked, and inter-operable with GeoRef.
- AGRICOLA This link opens in a new windowOver 2.9 million records covering every major agricultural subject. Compiled by the National Agricultural Library of the U.S. Department of Agriculture. Covers 1970 to the present.
- Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive reference database covering life sciences journal literature. Covers 1926 to the present.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowClarivate Analytics' premier citation databases in the sciences (physical, life and social) and arts & humanities. Search for articles that cite a known author or work or by standard search queries. Covers 1864 to the present.
Humanities & Social Sciences Databases
- Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndexes over 300 English-language periodicals covering anthropology, economics, political science, psychology, social work, sociology, and related fields. Covers 1983 to the present.
- Business Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndexes more than 300 international English-language business magazines covering accounting, finance, management, and small business. Covers January 1986 to the present.
- Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndexes over 300 English-language periodicals covering classical studies, history, literature, performing arts, philosophy, and related fields. Covers 1984 to the present.
- JStor This link opens in a new windowA collection of full-text articles from over 3000 scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years. A growing number of titles are available through the current issues, as part of their "Current Scholarship Program". Select Advanced Search to strategically search amongst 45 disciplines. Choose PDF from within JStor to properly view and print articles. For convenience, JStor is now searchable on Facebook.