Depending upon the recency of your topic (like "the Wall" or DACA), some of you may need to rely on newspaper articles, websites and government documents instead of or in addition to scholarly books and journal articles. A good first step for everyone is to find background information using your search terms in Wikipedia, online library reference sources, Google or Google Scholar. As you get further along in the process, you will need to rely on Discover (the library catalog) and databases. You will also need to carefully evaluate the source of your information.
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research. Learn how to connect Google Scholar to the F&M Library here.
Includes an expansive range of Sage eBook and eReference content for students, researchers, and faculty. This collection includes scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, encyclopedias, textbooks and more.
Features content from reference book formats such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, and books of quotations, plus subject-specific titles in subjects ranging from agriculture to philosophy to technology.
A collection of reference ebooks in the following subject areas: Biography, Business, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Nation and World, Religion, Science, Social Science, World Literature and Its Times.