ART235: Destroying Images
A research guide for Professor Aleci's ART235: Destroying Images class.
- Library
- LibGuides
- ART235: Destroying Images
- Finding Resources
Research Tips
For your final case studies, you'll likely need to pull from a variety of scholarly and popular resources across disciplines, not only in art history. The guide below is broken up by source type and then genre, i.e. historical & contemporary newspapers, academic databases, etc. Remember to use the keywords you came up with in class to help you along your research, keeping in mind that keywords can shift depending upon the research context you're in.
Finally, remember to keep track of the keywords and resources that you've used, alongside keeping track of your found references in Zotero.
For access to The New York Times, The Los Angeles Times, and other contemporary newspapers, please use Nexis Uni.
Newspapers
Contemporary Newspapers & News Resources
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowExplore issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface.
- Lancaster Online This link opens in a new windowOffers current and recent articles and full page images. Access also includes searchable full text, complete archives dating back to 1797. Note that users must access the archives content via the Archives page (click "Read Archives") on the lancasteronline.com website. Covers 1797 to the present.
- NewsBank This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to major U.S. and international newspapers, including The Philadelphia Inquirer, The Philadelphia Daily News, The Chicago Sun-Times, and local Lancaster newspapers. Also includes newswires, transcripts, and U.S. small town newspapers. Coverage varies per title, with some dating back 50 years.
- News Research (Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni searches a wide range of news resources, including newspapers, magazines, newswires, broadcast transcripts, reviews, obituaries, and editorials. Use Nexis Uni for access to current issues of major news publications, including The New York Times, The Los Angeles Times, The Associated Press, and BBC, among others.
- Vanderbilt Television News Archive (1968- ) This link opens in a new windowOver one million video news segments, with searchable abstracts. The archive includes content from ABC, CBS, NBC, Fox News, CNN, and MSNBC. Coverage extends back to August 5, 1968. No current material will be made available until at least 72 hours after the original broadcast.
Historical Newspapers
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 by Newsbank This link opens in a new windowOne-of-a-kind record of African American history, culture, and daily life. Covers life in the Antebellum South through the Civil Rights movement and more.
- America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowFully searchable, cover-to-cover reproductions of early American newspapers including titles from all 50 present states. Includes: Early American Newspapers, Series 1 (1690-1876), Early American Newspapers, Series 2 (1758-1900) and Early American Newspapers, Series 3 (1829-1922).
- Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new window17th & 18th century newspapers and pamphlets published primarily in London.
- Early American Newspapers, 1690-1922Part of America's Historical Newspapers. Click here for access.
- Lancaster Online This link opens in a new windowOffers current and recent articles and full page images. Access also includes searchable full text, complete archives dating back to 1797. Note that users must access the archives content via the Archives page (click "Read Archives") on the lancasteronline.com website. Covers 1797 to the present.
- New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowThe New York Times Historical Archive offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Sept. 18, 1851- 4 Years Ago, full-text.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowHistorical access to the New York Times (1851-2015), Chicago Tribune (1849-1996), Los Angeles Times (1881-1995), Philadelphia Inquirer (1860-2001), and Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (1786-2003). Also features recent issues of the New York Times (2008- two months ago) and Wall Street Journal (2008- two months ago).
Research Databases
Art & Art History
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new windowArticles and other text materials from a variety of art publications.
- Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) This link opens in a new windowArticles and other text materials about European and American art from late antiquity to the present. Covers scholarship to 2008.
- International Bibliography of Art (IBA) This link opens in a new windowArticles and other text materials about European and American art from late antiquity to the present. Covers scholarship since 2008. Covers scholarship since 2008.
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new windowCovers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
Sociology
- Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new windowIndex to content from core journals in all areas of the social sciences. Provides lists of sources cited, plus publications citing the original article. Also known as SSCI. Publications from 1900 - present.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCovers the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Publications from 1952 - present.
Religious Studies & Philosophy
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive scholarly database covering books and journals published in all major fields of philosophy since 1940.
- PhilPapers: Philosophical Research Online This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive index of philosophy books and articles. PhilPapers offers unique features such as real-time indexing of pre-prints, fine-grained classification by topic, email alerts, reading lists, advanced search functionality, and discussion forums.
- Religion Index (ATLA) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive resource for religious and theological studies, providing citations for journal articles, essays, chapters, books, book reviews, etc., covering topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues. Produced by the American Theological Library Association/ATLA. Covers from 1949 to the present.
Multidisciplinary Resources
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new windowAccess the digital images of every page of books published in the United Kingdom and elsewhere during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of millions of pages, the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
- Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles from English-language magazines and academic journals in a wide range of interdisciplinary fields. Covers 1907 to 1984.
- Iter Bibliography: Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance This link opens in a new windowIter, meaning 'a journey' or 'a path' in Latin, is a bibliography comprised of secondary source material pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
- JStor This link opens in a new windowA collection of full-text articles from over 3000 scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years. A growing number of titles are available through the current issues, as part of their "Current Scholarship Program". Select Advanced Search to strategically search amongst 45 disciplines. Choose PDF from within JStor to properly view and print articles. For convenience, JStor is now searchable on Facebook.
ILL & EZ Borrow
Can't find a book? Request books not found in or checked out from the F&M College Library using the E-Z Borrow system of 60 regional libraries.
Can't find that article, book chapter, or STILL can't find that book? Request books, articles, books chapters and more through Interlibrary Loan!
Online Resources
- George Floyd & Anti-Racist Street ArtA regularly updated database of instances of street art related to George Floyd and antiracism in the US.
- HyperallergicA site for art and art historical writings and criticisms.
- Urban Art Mapping: COVID-19 Street ArtA database of street art related to COVID-19.
For more resources
Visit the individual subject area research guides, which feature more comprehensive lists of databases covering scholarly research and articles in their respective fields.