News and Opinion Databases and Web Sites
- U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowProvides access to: The New York Times (1980- present), The Wall Street Journal (1984- present), The Washington Post (1987- present), The Los Angeles Times (1985- present), and The Chicago Tribune (1985- present).
- News Research (Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new windowFeatures a variety of news resources: newspapers, magazines, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blog and web publications, reviews, obituaries, and editorials. Dates of coverage varies per title.
- New York Timeslimited access to current and recent articles and opinion pieces - See Nexis Uni or U. S. Major Dailies for more comprehensive coverage (or the NY Times historical database)
- New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowThe New York Times Historical Archive offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Sept. 18, 1851- 4 Years Ago, full-text.
- Washington Postlimited access to current and recent articles and opinion pieces - See U. S. Major Dailies for more comprehensive coverage.
- Wall Street Journallimited access to current articles - See U. S. Major Dailies for more comprehensive coverage.
- The Economistpolitical articles from a British and European perspective
- National JournalCurrent material only. Archived articles are not included.
- The HillA news & opinion web site with a focus on Capitol Hill.
- NPR NewsThe news-based section of National Public Radio's web site.
- AP NewsThe Associated Press's web site -" the definitive source for independent journalism from every corner of the globe."
- ReutersThe Reuters News Service provides business, financial, national and international news.
- BallotpediaThis site contains lots of information about federal, state and local elections and candidates.