GOV 100: American Government
- Library
- LibGuides
- GOV 100: American Government
- Find Government Documents and Primary Sources
Report on the January 6th Attack on the U. S. Capitol
- Final Report of the Select Committee to Investigate the January 6th Attack on the U. S. CapitolIssued on December 22, 2022
117th Congress Second Session
House Report 117-663 - Select January 6th Committee Final Report and Supporting Materials CollectionThe collection includes court documents, videos, transcripts of testimony, and depositions.
Federal Government
- GovInfo This link opens in a new windowGPO's GovInfo provides free public access to Government information submitted by Congress and Federal agencies and preserved as technology changes. (replaced FDsys in December 2018)
- Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (GPO) This link opens in a new windowFinding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Covers July 1976 to the present.
- The U. S. Constitution, AnnotatedAnalysis and Interpretation of the Constitution from the Library of Congress.
- United States Statutes at LargeCall Number: Ref. KF 50 .U52 (located in the compact shelving on the Ground Floor)This is the final permanent version of the U. S. public laws, arranged chronologically.
- Public and Private LawsOnline access to U. S. public laws is available from 1995 to the present.
- Congressional BillsBills from 1993 (103rd Congress) to the present are available on FDSys.
- United States CodeCall Number: Ref. KF 62 1992 .A2 (located in the compact shelving on the Ground Floor)Publication Date: currentThis is the official codification of federal laws, organized into 50 subject areas (or titles).
- United States CodeThe online version of the U. S. Code goes back to 1994.
- Federal Register This link opens in a new windowView the Federal Register in a daily online newspaper format, highlighting the most popular and newsworthy documents. Users will be able to see all of the U.S. Government rules, proposed rules, public notices of federal agencies and Presidential documents in a clear layout and improved navigation. Covers from 1994 to the present.
- Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)Call Number: Ref. KF 70 .A3 (located in the compact shelving on the Ground Floor)Publication Date: currentThis is the official codification of all current federal regulations, organized into 50 titles.
- Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)Online access to the CFR begins in 1996.
- Congress.govCongress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information and is the Library of Congress's legislative research database.
- Congressional Committee HearingsOnline access to House and Senate committee hearings from 1997 to the present. Many of these hearings can also be found in the library's catalog.
- Congressional RecordDaily transcripts of speeches and remarks delivered on the floor of the House and Senate.
U.S. Doc. X/A ....(1921 - present in paper; 1873-1921 on microfilm)
Online access, from 1994 to the present, is through FDSys. - Congressional Budget OfficeThe home page of the CBO, with links to recent reports and analyses.
- Budget of the United States GovernmentCall Number: Ref. HJ 2051 A.5 2014Publication Date: current
- Budget of the United States GovernmentOnline access to the budget is available from 1996 to the present.
- Compilation of Presidential DocumentsThe Compilation of Presidential Documents collection consists of the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents which are the official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary. These include all public statements and remarks made by the President, as well as official communications to Congress.
- Supreme Court of the United StatesInformation about the Supreme Court, the justices, and recent opinions.
- United States ReportsCall Number: Ref. JK 1561 .U5 (located in the compact shelving on the Ground Floor)Publication Date: 577 volumes (so far)The official compilation of U. S. Supreme Court opinions. Recent opinions are available on the Supreme Court's web page, or through LEXIS-NEXIS, Westlaw, or United States Law Week.
- U. S. House of RepresentativesThe official web site for the House. This is where you can find information about your representative.
- United States SenateThis is the official web site of the Senate. You can find information about your Senator here.
- Federal Election CommissionProvides detailed financial reports for all candidates, PACs, and more.
- CRS ReportsA series of in-depth reports on a variety of topics, prepared for the use of members of Congress. Now, at long last, these reports are available for public use.
- EXAMINING IRREGULARITIES IN THE 2020 ELECTIONA recent example of a congressional committee hearing.