GOV 100: American Government

Indexes over 300 English-language periodicals covering anthropology, economics, political science, psychology, social work, sociology, and related fields. Includes both Abstracts and Full Text Articles. Covers 1983 to the present. This is the best place to begin because it includes the major scholarly journals in Political Science.

Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.

A collection of full-text articles from over 3000 scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years. A growing number of titles are available through the current issues, as part of their "Current Scholarship Program". Select Advanced Search to strategically search amongst 45 disciplines. Choose PDF from within JStor to properly view and print articles. For convenience, JStor is now searchable on Facebook.

A comprehensive database of legal materials, including state and federal court cases, statutes and regulations, plus the legal encyclopedia American Jurisprudence (2nd edition) and the publication American Law Reports.

Contains the full text of newspaper articles from the United States and other countries (including New York Times and Washington Post), business information (including SEC filings), and legal resources (including state and federal case law). This is NOT a scholarly resource, but can be useful for examples of immediate reaction to events and for editorial opinion.

Explore issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface.

Provides access to: The New York Times (1980- present), The Wall Street Journal (1984- present), The Washington Post (1987- present), The Los Angeles Times (1985- present), and The Chicago Tribune (1985- present).

The New York Times Historical Archive offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Sept. 18, 1851- 4 Years Ago, full-text.

CQ Magazine (formerly CQ Weekly) covers virtually every act of Congress, delivering nonpartisan news and analysis unavailable anywhere else, fully archived to 1983. Get in-depth reports on issues looming on the congressional horizon, plus a complete wrap up the previous week's news, including the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates and all roll-call votes.

The CQ Almanac Online Edition brings together authoritative congressional reporting since the 79th Congress. The site pairs all of the content from the print volumes with electronic features that make navigating the content fast and easy. Coverage runs from 1945-2017.