CNX 120: Jewish Responses to Holocaust

Evaluating Information Activity

Below are links to five different sources. In groups you will look at one of these sources to determine:

What type of source are you looking at (book, journal article, etc.)?
Is this source credible? What are your criteria to determine this?
How might you use this type of source in your research?

Please have someone in your group write down the responses to these questions using dry erase markers on the blue classroom walls. You will have 5-10 minutes to answer the questions and then we will share as a group. Be prepared to share your answers with the rest of the class.

Suggested Databases & Resources

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive resource for religious and theological studies, providing citations for journal articles, essays, chapters, books, book reviews, etc., covering topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues. Produced by the American Theological Library Association/ATLA. Covers from 1949 to the present.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Articles and other text materials published in scholarly journals in the arts and humanities. Subjects covered are the Arts, Humanities, Language (including Linguistics), Poetry, Music, Classical works, History, Philosophy, Archaeology, Architecture, Religion, Television, Theater, and Radio. Covers 1975 to the present.
JStor This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text articles from over 3000 scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years. A growing number of titles are available through the current issues, as part of their "Current Scholarship Program". Select Advanced Search to strategically search amongst 45 disciplines. Choose PDF from within JStor to properly view and print articles. For convenience, JStor is now searchable on Facebook.

DISCOVER

advanced

Find Background Information

Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library - GVRL) This link opens in a new window
A collection of reference ebooks in the following subject areas: Biography, Business, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Nation and World, Religion, Science, Social Science, World Literature and Its Times.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Features content from reference book formats such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, and books of quotations, plus subject-specific titles in subjects ranging from agriculture to philosophy to technology.
Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Includes an expansive range of Sage eBook and eReference content for students, researchers, and faculty. This collection includes scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, encyclopedias, textbooks and more.