F&M College Library

CNX 152: Gender, Race & Sexuality in Media

A course guide to help students in Professor Misra's CNX152 course, Fall 2020 Module 1.

Library Services Operating Remotely

Virtual Services

  • E-Resources
    • All of the academic databases listed on this course guide are available for your remote use, anytime of the day or night. If you have any trouble with a database, or need help searching, please either reach out to Anna at aboutinc@fandm.edu or chat with a librarian. 
    • Please see the A-Z List for a complete listing of all databases available to the F&M community. 
    • In addition, we have a wide variety of ebooks available for you to use. Use DISCOVER to search for the titles you need. 
  • Interlibrary Loan 
    • You can still request PDF resources from Interlibrary Loan, including PDFs of articles or book chapters you may need for your assignments. 
    • Use the form at this page to complete your request. It's here at https://library.fandm.edu/ill
  • Research Meetings
    • You can schedule a virtual research appointment with me during my working hours: 9am-5pm EST, M-F. If you need a different time or day, please email me and we can set something up. 
    • Use this form to schedule appointments with me. It's at https://libcal.fandm.edu/appointments/abc
  • Virtual Chat Services 
    • Have a quick question about library resources or services? Need help with a research question? If you don't have time to wait for an email response from me, you can chat with a librarian during these hours: 
      • Monday - Thursday 8am-8pm EST
      • Friday 8am-6pm EST
      • Saturday 12pm-6pm EST
      • Sunday 12pm-8pm EST
    • Use the chat pop up on the College Library homepage. It's here at https://library.fandm.edu

Library Services On Campus

The College Library at F&M has two locations:

  • Shadek-Fackenthal Library
    • Located near Old Main, this library houses our humanities collections, as well as the Research Services Office. 
  • Martin Library of the Sciences
    • Located near the College Houses, Martin houses our sciences collections, as well as the Q&SC Tutoring Center and the College Library Archives & Special Collections. 

In addition to our virtual services, the College Library buildings will be open: 

  • Monday through Thursday 8am to 10pm EST 
  • Fridays 8am-8pm EST
  • Saturday 12pm-8pm EST
  • Sunday 12pm-10pm EST

Hours are subject to change, so be sure to check out the College Library page before heading out. 

While at the campus libraries, you can: 

  • Check out physical reserves
    • Check out materials your professors may have put on reserve for your class. 
  • Use private study rooms
  • Use the general library space for studying 
  • Browse our physical collections & check out materials
    • You can check out materials by bringing your books to the Circulation Desk

Research & Visual Arts Librarian

Anna Boutin-Cooper's picture
Anna Boutin-Cooper
Contact:
Shadek-Fackenthal Library, Room 103
717.358.3896