Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


WGS/GOV 378: Gender and the Law



REFERENCE RESOURCES

Poverty in the United States
REF HC110 .P6 P598 2004

Work and family in America
REF HD4904.25 .S84 2001

Women and equality in the workplace
REF HD6095 .G48 2003

Pornography and sexual representation
REF HQ472.U6 S56 2001

Encyclopedia of abortion in the United States
REF HQ767.5.U5 P35 2002

Encyclopedia of women's history in America
REF HQ1410 .C85 2000

History of women in the United States: a state-by-state reference 4 vols.
REF HQ1410 .H58 2004

United States government documents on women, 1800-1990
REF HQ1410.H85 Z2 1993

Encyclopedia of rape
REF HV6558 .E53 2004

Domestic violence sourcebook
REF HV6626.2 .D685 2004

Encyclopedia of law and society 3 vols.
REF Balcony K 583 .E53 2007



F&M LIBRARY CATALOG & E-Z BORROW: BOOKS

Search the catalog to find out what books, journals, newspapers, videos, maps, CDs, music, etc., the library owns.
NOTE: There are no journal articles in the catalog!

WorldCat

E-Z Borrow
A free book-exchange service among academic libraries in Pennsylvania. If F&M's copy of a book you want is unavailable, try E-Z Borrow to get the book quickly! (E-Z Borrow requires your F&M ID barcode number.)


ELECTRONIC RESOURCES A-Z: JOURNAL LITERATURE

LEXIS-NEXIS

Alternative Press Index (+ its Archive)

America History & Life

Article First

Business Management

Contemporary Women's Issues

Econlit

JSTOR

New York Times, 1851-2003

Newsbank

PAIS

Project Muse

Social Sciences Full Text

Sociological Abstracts



LAWS AND REGULATIONS

United States Statutes at Large
Ref. Balcony KF 50 .U52 (1893 - )
This is the first permanent form of federal laws. One or more volumes are compiled for each legislative session. Recent laws are issued in "slip" format, arranged by Public Law number. Public Laws from 1995 to the present are available on GPO Access.

United States Code
Ref. Balcony KF 62 1992 .A2
This is the official codification of all federal laws, divided into 50 subject areas (or titles). Specific subject indexing is included, as well as a listing of the laws by popular names. Also available on GPO Access.

Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)
Ref. Balcony KF 70 .A34
This is a subject accumulation of rules currently in force, also divided into 50 titles (most of which correspond to the United States Code). It is nothing less than "a codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the Executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government." There is a separate index volume to the CFR. The current edition is also available on GPO Access.

Federal Register
U.S. Doc. AE 2.106, Ground Floor
Published five days a week, this contains news of Executive rules and all presidential proclamations, rules and regulations of the various bureaus and departments of the federal government, decisions of fact-finding bodies, and all proposed regulations. Material from 1994 to the present is available on GPO Access. Only the most recent two years of the FR are retained in paper copy by the library.


Last updated: 3/26/09 jb/ls/tk, contact Lisa Stillwell, Information Literacy Librarian, for assistance, 291-3844 or lisa.stillwell@fandm.edu
 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223