Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


TDF 331: History of World Theatre Dance



Print Resources

Library Catalog
To find books in the our library, try a Words or Phrase search. Try narrowing your search by Details > Full Record > Subject terms. Sample search string:

(wigman or graham) and dance
ballet and (costume or pointe or design)
anna pavlova
trisha brown

International encyclopedia of dance
Ref GV1585 .I586 1998

International dictionary of modern dance
Ref GV1585 .C78 2000

Oxford dictionary of dance
Ref GV1585 .B46 1998

Dance words
Ref GV1585 .P74 1995

Illustrated Encyclopedia of World Theatre
Ref PN2035 .E52

Dictionary of the Theatre: Terms, Concepts, and Analysis
Ref PN2035 .P2913 1998

Historical Dictionary of French Theatre
Ref PN2637 .F67 2010

Encyclopedia of Asian Theatre
Ref PN2860 .E63 2007

WorldCat
Better than sliced bread, or Google! If you can't fine it anywhere else, you can find it here. Over 100 million records of many types of material from most academic libraries. Be sure check Libraries Worldwide. For materials not found at F&M, you may need to use:

E-ZBorrow (PA books only)
Interlibrary Loan



Online Resources

How can I access the Library's online resources when I'm not on the college network?
Spring break can be an excellent time to catch-up on research and gather resources for papers. When you are not on the campus network, you will need to establish VPN proxy access, so that you can connect to Library research resources.

JStor
Full-text journals, most from original date of publication, with a rolling current date of 4 or 5 years. Choose Advanced Search, then possibly narrow search to Articles and relevant disciplines, including Performing Arts.

New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
The New York Times offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Sept. 18, 1851 - Dec. 31, 2007, full-text.

Lexis-Nexis
Connections to newspaper articles (including New York Times and Washington Post). Try searching in NEWS, then General News. Particularly good for recent reviews of performances and choreographed works.

Also directly connect to Lexis-Nexis Academic - Theatre Reviews

Dance in Video
Contains over 500 hours of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.

Readers' Guide Full Text
Indexes over 200 popular U.S. general interest periodicals. Does include Dance Magazine, and a few other popular performing arts journals. Covers 1983 to the present. You might also try Reader's Guide Retrospective for coverage 1890 to 1982.

New York Pulblic Library
NYPL has one of the largest collections on Dance Research, and is well worth the trip for specialized study. You can find much of this collection through Worldcat, but sometimes searching a focused collection can be more manageable.

Historical Abstracts
Comprehensive international historical coverage (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Covers abstracts from 1955 to the present.

Humanities Full Text
Indexes over 300 English-language periodicals covering classical studies, history, literature, performing arts, philosophy, and related fields. Covers 1984 to the present.


Last updated: 3/8/12 ag contact Andy Gulati for assistance, 291-4261
 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223