Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


TDF 116: Modern Dance



Print Resources

Current biography
Ref CT100 .C8

International encyclopedia of dance
Ref GV1585 .I586 1998

International dictionary of modern dance
Ref GV1585 .C78 2000

Oxford dictionary of dance
Ref GV1585 .B46 1998

Dance words
Ref GV1585 .P74 1995


Online Resources

Library Catalog
To find books in the our library, try doing a keyword search for your stomatic-related term or your choreographer. You would do well to explore some background reading from sources listed above to help develop keyword search strategies.

WorldCat
Over 50 million records of many types of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries around the world. Updated daily. Great for just about everything and good for brainstorming and developing synonymous terms. Materials most likely will need to be obtained through Interlibrary Loan.

Readers' Guide Full Text
Indexes over 200 popular U.S. general interest periodicals. Does include Dance Magazine, and a few other popular performing arts journals. Covers 1983 to the present.

Lexis-Nexis
Connections to newspaper articles (including New York Times and Washington Post). Try searching in NEWS, then General News. Particularly good for recent reviews of performances and choreographed works.

Yahoo/choreographers
Try this listing of choreographers or work your way back up the Yahoo listing to sources for Modern Dance. You might also to a general search in Google to brainstorm and develop search strategy.

New York Pulblic Library
NYPL has one of the largest collections on Dance Research, and is well worth the trip for specialized study.

New York Foundation for the Arts
The New York Foundation for the Arts' mission is to empower artists at critical stages in their creative lives.

Last updated: 12/17/09 ag, contact Andy Gulati for assistance, 291-4261
 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223