Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


SPA 370: Latin-American Civilization and Culture



Research Resources

Listed below are Census, newsaper, reference, journal and book resources which might provide research materials regarding Latin-American immigration in general and in Lancaster. Keep in mind that since Puerto Rico is an American protectorate, you will not find that populaton delineated on Census tables. You may be able to ascertain the flows of Puerto Rican populations from newspaper articles and local government websites.

U.S. Census Factfinder Data (PDF)
The US Census has significantly changed their methods used to gather and facilitate data. Since is can be difficult to gather Lancaster data, please see this (dated) PDF for details.

U.S. Census Lancaster County State & County QuickFacts
Just a snapshot of our local population. Hispanic and Latino populations are broadly classed, and MAY include the Puerto Rican population.

The Foreign born from Latin American and the Caribbean: 2010 (PDF)
Good general overview of Latin American and Caribbean immigrant populations.

Latino Country: Hispanic population surpasses Amish in Lancaster County, U.S. Census data show
Interesting googled article at Pennlive.com. There might be other online blogs or zines with interesting info, but be aware of authorship and accuracy.

Lexis Nexis Academic
Follow this route to get to newspaper articles regarding local Latino populations. Choose NEWS then Newspapers & Wires on left. At Select Source, choose Major Newspapers AND Small Town Papers. Search example: puerto rican and lancaster city. Please try other keywords and narrow search by date range or portions of the article as needed.

CQ (Congressional Quarterly) Researcher
Published in print and online 44 times a year, the single-themed CQ Researcher report offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Here is an interesting article about Puerto Rico's Status. Article is dated but oddly relevant, especially regarding recent discusion about statehood.

JStor
Excellent full-text & date-depth resource up through the last 4 to 6 years, covering many disciplines including nearly 100 journal titles in the areas of Latin American and Population Studies. Please check Journal Finder for holdings to bridge the recent 4 to 6 years. You may need to use Interlibrary Loan if we do not have journal title holdings.

Sociological Abstracts
Full version comprehensive database of over 1800 journals covering sociology, social work, and other social sciences, including IMMIGRATION. Covers 1952 to the present.

PAIS
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) is an index to policy-oriented literature (books, journal articles and U.S. and foreign government documents). International coverage of information about political, economic and social issues and events in specific countries. Covers both the International and Archives of PAIS. Covers 1914 to the present.

Library Catalog
To find books in the our library, try a Words or Phrase search. Try narrowing your search by Details > Full Record > Subject terms. Sample search string:
(hispanic or latino or latin american) and immigration
(puerto rico or puerto rican) and (statehood or immigration)
lancaster and (history or immigration)

WorldCat
Better than sliced bread, or Google! If you can't fine it anywhere else, you can find it here. Over 100 million records of many types of material from most academic libraries. Be sure check Libraries Worldwide. For materials not found at F&M, you may need to use:
E-ZBorrow (PA books only)
Interlibrary Loan


Last updated: 3/21/12 ag contact Andy Gulati for assistance, 291-4261
 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223