Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


SOC 480: Sociology of Law



REFERENCE RESOURCES

Encyclopedia of Law & Society: American and Global Perspectives
3 vols.
Ref Balcony K 583 .E53 2007

Oxford Companion to American Law
Ref Balcony KF 156 .O94 2002

The Supreme Court Compendium: Data, Decisions, and Developments, 4th Ed.
Ref Balcony KF 8742 .S914 2007

Guide to the U. S. Supreme Court, 5th Ed.
2 vols.
Ref Balcony KF 8742 .W567 2011



COURT CASES & LAW REVIEWS

Westlaw, Campus Research
Research service, includes: thousands of news databases arranged geographically and topically; hundreds of newswires as well as business, trade and professional journals and publications; and superior law-related resources, including both primary law and analysis.

US Supreme Court Web Site
Provides electronic access to recent Court opinions and information about the workings of the Court.

Law Library of Congress
Provides access to court cases, legal information, and legislative resources - from the Library of Congress.

Legal Periodicals Full Text
Indexes articles from 620 legal journals, yearbooks, institutes, bar associations, law reviews, and government publications originating in the U.S., Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia, and New Zealand. Includes book reviews. Covers August 1981 to the present. Link will launch OmniFile Full Text Mega. Choose database from Subject Area.

Legal Research (Lexis-Nexis)
Legal resources, including full text of law reviews, state and federal case law, patent law, and law school directories. For Mac Users - Please use Safari or Google Chrome as your browser.

Sociological Abstracts
Comprehensive database of over 1,800 academic journals in sociology, social work, and other social sciences.

United States Reports
Ref Balcony JK 1561 .U5 (555 volumes so far)

The official final compilation of all U. S. Supreme Court cases, from the beginning to the present.


Last updated: 2/2/12 tk, contact Tom Karel, Collection Development Librarian, for assistance, 291-3845 or tom.karel@fandm.edu
 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223