Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


SOC 310: Urban Sociology: Immigration Paper



Reference Sources

Encyclopedia of American Urban History 2 vols.
REF HT 123 .E49 2007

Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society 3 vols.
REF HT 1521 .E63 2008

Immigration in U. S. History 2 vols.
REF BALCONY JV 6450 .I565 2006

Encyclopedia of American Immigration 3 vols.
REF BALCONY JV 6465 .E53 2010

Immigration in America Today: An Encyclopedia
REF BALCONY JV 6465 .I4754 2006

Encyclopedia of North American Immigration
REF BALCONY JV 6465 .P68 2005


General Information About the Census

Encyclopedia of the U.S. Census
REF HA 37 .U55 E53 2000

The American People: Census 2000
REF HA 201.122 .A45 2005

The Who, What, and Where of America: Understanding the Census Results
REF HA 201.122 .W48 2003

The Who, What, and Where of America: Understanding the American Community Survey
REF HA 201.122 .W48 2010


Census Data: Print Volumes

1990 Census of Population and Housing
US Doc C3.233/11:1990/
Ground Level, Shadek-Fackenthal Library

County and City Data Book 2007
REF HA 202 .A366 2007

State and Metropolitan Area Data Book 2010
REF HA 202 .A38 2010

Historical Statistics of the United States 5 vols.
REF HA 202 .H57 2006

The Comparative Guide to American Suburbs
REF HA 203 .C66 2007

County and City Extra: Annual Metro, City and County Data Book
REF HA 203 .C68 2008


Census Data: Online Access

The 2000 and 2010 Censuses
American FactFinder
Access to the latest population, housing, and economic data from the US Census Bureau.

American Community Survey
An annual survey of social and economic data. This will replace the long form for the Decennial Census.

Census Bureau's Web Page
U.S. Census Bureau
Provides broader coverage and more data than the Factfinder site. Data from the 1990 and 2000 censuses are available here.


Additional Statistical Data

FedStats
Links to statistical data from over 100 federal agencies.

Statistical Abstract of the United States: The National Data Book
Ref. HA 202 .U8 2011 (latest edition at the Reference Desk; 2012 edition is online)
U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census
1907 - 2010 volumes are in the general book stacks and online


Scholarly Literature

F&M Library Catalog

WorldCat

Social Sciences Full Text
Indexes over 300 English-language periodicals covering anthropology, economics, psychology, social work, sociology, and related fields.

Sociological Abstracts
Full version comprehensive database of over 1500 journals covering urban sociology, social work, and other social sciences.

Social Sciences Citation Index
Indexes articles from major journals in all areas of the social sciences. Records include citation cross referencing.


Additional Census and Immigration Information

Brookings Institution: Metropolitan Policy Program
Features reports on immigration to US cities.

Social Explorer
User-friendly site for making maps of census data and sometimes for downloading data as well.

Lewis Mumford Center
Features US Census data and mappling applications.

Spatial Structures in the Social Sciences
Features projects working with US Census data for 2000 and 2010, including mapping capabilities.

Minnesota Population Center IPUMS Project
Features historical census data for the US and other countries.




For further assistance, contact:

Lisa Stillwell, Information Literacy Librarian: lisa.stillwell@fandm.edu or 717.291.3844

Last updated: ls, 2/2012

 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223