Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


SOC 210: Class, Status and Power




REFERENCE SOURCES

Encyclopedia of Sociology
REF HM 17 .E5 2000

The Europa World Year Book
REF D 2 .E8 2009

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences




BOOKS @ F&M and Beyond

Choose the Books & More tab on the library home page to access the library's catalog. Click on "More Search Options" to access all catalog search functions.

If you need or would like to discover more books on your topic after searching the F&M Library Catalog, search WorldCat, a global library catalog and resource sharing network.

Use E-Z Borrow, a regional expedited book-sharing network, to borrow books not available at F&M. [E-Z Borrow requires your F&M ID barcode number.] Should the book not be available through E-Z Borrow, request it through Interlibrary Loan/ILL.



SCHOLARLY JOURNAL / RESEARCH LITERATURE @ F&M and Beyond

Sociological Abstracts
Comprehensive database of abstracts from articles in over 1500 academic journals covering sociology and other social sciences.

Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science)
Index of articles from major journals in all areas of the social sciences. Records include citation cross referencing.

Social Sciences Full Text
Index of English-language periodicals covering anthropology, economics, psychology, social work, sociology, and related fields. Includes both abstracts and full-text articles.

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service)
Indexes many forms of literature (e.g. government documents, think-tank papers, etc.) chronicling global public policy and social issues.

America: History and Life
Covers the history, culture, area studies, and current affairs literature of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.

Anthropology Plus
Provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.

EconLit
Comprehensive, international, partially annotated bibliography of economics literature. Indexes journals as well as books, dissertations, working papers, and collective volumes.

Education Full Text
Indexes more than 400 domestic and international English-language periodicals and yearbooks. Subjects include administration, teaching methods and curriculum, literacy, and government funding.

Historical Abstracts
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada), focusing on the 15th century forward.

PsycINFO
The American Psychological Association's index of journals, books, dissertations, and reports on psychology and related fields.



ACCESSING ARTICLES not held by the F&M Library

If immediate access to an article does not appear to be available, do not despair! To learn if we have a subscription to the journal or periodical you need, search F&M's electronic and print journal titles here: Journal Finder.

To obtain articles from publications to which F&M does not subscribe, fill out an Interlibrary Loan request form, using the information found in the article's citation.



Sources for STATISTICS

International Financial Statistics from the International Monetary Fund (IMF)

Statistical Insight
Data from government agencies and private organizations; international in scope.

Population Index
Presents an annotated bibliography of books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics. Provides a searchable and browsable database containing abstracts of demographic literature published 1986-2000.

Social Explorer
Easy access to demographic information about the United States, from 1790 to 2010. Select the "Maps" or Reports" tab to get started. (Note: a link to this resource is featured on the Library's Subject Guides page for Sociology.)

Statistical Abstract of the United States
Compiled by the U.S. Census Bureau as a summary of "statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States." Also available in print format at the Reference/Ask Me Desk: HA 202 .U8 2011

World Development Indicators via the World dataBank
Comprehensive source of development statistics, available by country and by region; covers a wide range of topics for multiple years, in some cases going back to the 1960s.




EVALUATING and CITING Sources

Consult the Library's Research Tips web page for information on evaluating and citing sources.

Also consult The Writing Center's Using Outside Sources: A Student's Guide to Paraphrasing, Quoting, and Acknowledging Sources. (It will automatically open as a pdf.)




If you have any questions about the library and/or the research process, or would like further assistance, contact:

Lisa Stillwell, Information Literacy Librarian: lisa.stillwell@fandm.edu or 717.291.3844

Updated: 02/2013, ls; 02/2010, lk

 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223