Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


SOC 171: MIGRATION




Guide to the Shadek-Fackenthal Library

Click here for a guide to Call Number Locations and Maps of the Shadek-Fackenthal Library


REFERENCE SOURCES

Use reference sources to get ideas for topics, to get background information, and to guide you to additional information.
American Immigrant Cultures: Builders of a Nation
REF E 184 .A1 A63448 1997

Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
REF E 184 .A1 G14 2000

Harvard Encyclopedia of American Ethnic Groups
REF E 184 .A1 H35

Immigration and Migration
REF JV 6201 .B35 2008

Immigration and Multiculturalism: Essential Primary Sources
REF JV 6465 .I4737 2006

Encyclopedia of American Immigration
REF JV 6465 .E53 2010




How to discover BOOKS @ F&M and beyond

Choose the Books & More tab on the library home page to access the library's catalog. Click on "More Search Options" to access all catalog search functions.

If you need or would like to discover more books on your topic after searching the F&M Library Catalog, search WorldCat, a global library catalog and resource sharing network.

Use E-Z Borrow, a regional expedited book-sharing network, to borrow books not available at F&M. [E-Z Borrow requires your F&M ID barcode number.] Should the book not be available through E-Z Borrow, request it through Interlibrary Loan/ILL.



How to discover JOURNAL ARTICLES in the social science literature @ F&M and beyond

Sociological Abstracts
Comprehensive database of over 1,800 academic journals in sociology, social work, and other social sciences.

Social Sciences Full Text
Indexes hundreds of English-language periodicals in anthropology, economics, political science, psychology, social work, sociology, and related fields.

America: History and Life
Comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to present.


ACCESSING ARTICLES not available @ F&M

If immediate access to an article does not appear to be available, do not despair! To learn if we have a subscription to the journal or periodical you need, search F&M's electronic and print journal titles here: Journal Finder.

To obtain articles from publications to which F&M does not subscribe, fill out an Interlibrary Loan request form, using the information found in the article's citation.


Additional RELIABLE SOURCES available on the web

UN Department of Economic and Social Affairs: Migration

UN High Commissioner for Refugees

OECD: Migration

International Organization for Migration

University of Minnesota: Immigration History Research Center

Pew Research Center: Reports on Immigration

Migration Policy Institute

Center for Comparative Immigration Studies

Latin American Migration Project



CENSUS DATA in Print

2000 Census of Population and Housing
US Doc C3.233/18:2000 (Ground level, Shadek-Fackenthal)

1990 Census of Population and Housing
US Doc C3.233/11:1990 (Ground level, Shadek-Fackenthal)

County and City Data Book 2007
Ref. Room HA 202 .A366 2007

State and Metropolitan Area Data Book 2010
Ref. Room HA 202 .A38 2010
This is also available online: SMADB 2010

Historical Statistics of the United States
Ref. Room HA 202 .H57 2006


CENSUS DATA Online

American Factfinder
Access to the latest population, housing, and economic data from the US Census Bureau. For an earlier version of the interface, click here.

American Community Survey
An annual survey of social and economic data. This will replace the long form for the Decennial Census.

U.S. Census Bureau
Provides broader coverage and more data than the Factfinder site. Data from the 1990 and 2000 censuses are available here.




If you have any questions about the library and/or the research process, contact:

Lisa Stillwell, Information Literacy Librarian: lisa.stillwell@fandm.edu or 717.291.3844

If you have any questions about, or would like further assistance with, U.S. Census Data, contact:

Tom Karel, Collection Development Librarian: tom.karel@fandm.edu or 717.291.3845


Created: 10/2009, lk; Updated: 09-11/2011, ls

 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223