Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


RST 212: Introduction to the Hebrew Bible



Library catalogs

F&M Library Catalog
Search our catalog for Judaic studies (many materials in the BM500 call number range, 3rd level Shadek) and Judaic history (many materials in the DS100 call number range, 3rd level Shadek). If our materials are Not Available, you might Request a Book through Interlibrary Loan, or request books from Pennsylvania libraries through E-Z Borrow.

You might also try a Subject search for "Bible--Commentaries." to find detailed studies for each book of the Bible.

Additionally, you could limit searching to audio-visual materials to find music or movies that deal with Biblical themes.

Lancaster Theological Seminary Library
The LTS Library is located along James Street, just off College Avenue. F&M patrons can search the Philip Schaff Library catalog and borrow from collections. LTS has a large collection of books related to Christianity and the Hebrew Bible.

WorldCat
Worldcat is the collection of most US academic library catalogs, and a good place to search and check for book and journal holdings, which might aid in the development of research and determination of the availability of materials.


Encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and bibliographies


Secondary sources are informational ones authored by people who were not actual participants in the topic at hand. They are of value to your research since they often provide greater objectivity and different views as a result of time's passage. Common secondary sources include encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks.
Encyclopaedia Judaica
Ref Room DS102.8 .E496 2007
An update to the 1972 edition, this resource is considered to be the most comprehensive for Judaic Studies in the English language. It has been expanded to 22 volumes, and now contains over 22,000 entries of which well over half are either new, revised, or updated. While the first edition was often criticized for an "Israel-centric" scholarly bias, this edition was overseen by a joint editorial board of Israeli and Diaspora scholars. Each volume has an abbreviations section and glossary. Contains index.

The New Encyclopedia of Judaism
Ref Room BM50 .E63 2002
This single volume encyclopedia updates the Encyclopedia of Judaism (1990), giving more emphasis upon biblical periods as well as adds new biographies of biblical figures. The books of the Apocrypha and some of the Pseudepigrapha are covered. Contains index and bibliography.

Dictionary of Judaism in the Biblical Period
Ref Room BM50 .D525 1996
This two volume encyclopedia dictionary covers not just the time of which the Bible speaks, but also the era during which both Judaism and Christianity were established and canonized (roughly 450 BCE through 600 CE.) It also covers subjects not found in similar works, including the Dead Sea Scrolls, Philo and Josephus, and classic writings of Judaism beyond the Scriptures. Cross-references present terms in a transliteration of the original language or its contemporary translation.

Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion
Ref Room BM50 .O94 1997
Written by a distinguished team of scholars from Israel, North America, and the UK, it covers doctrinal issues, religious concepts and controversies, rituals and symbols. Contains bibliographies.

Encyclopedia of Religion
Now in its second edition (2006), the most comprehensive reference source treating the full spectrum of religious studies. Articles are cross referenced. Contains a synoptic outline and a detailed index.


Online Resources

ATLA Religion Index
Comprehensive database in religious and theological scholarship. Includes index citations, journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews from ATLA's print indexes: Religion Index One (RIO), Religion Index Two (RIT), and Index to Book Reviews in Religion (IBRR). Covers from 1949 to the present.

JStor
Full-text journals, most from original date of publication, with a rolling current date of 4 or 5 years. Choose Advanced Search, then possibly narrow search to Articles and relevant disciplines. Along with the predictable "Religion" discipline, you might also try "Music" or "Performing Arts" to find journal articles that may discuss how Biblical themes are expressed in the arts.

Humanities Full Text
Indexes over 300 English-language periodicals covering classical studies, history, literature, performing arts, philosophy, and related fields. Covers 1984 to the present.

Philosopher's Index
The comprehensive scholarly database covering book and journals since 1940 in philosophy.


Last updated: 11/8/11 ag Contact Andy Gulati for further assistance.
 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223