Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


RST 114: Introduction to Islam



REFERENCE RESOURCES

Encyclopedia of Religion
Now in its second edition (2006), this is arguably the most comprehensive reference source treating the full spectrum of religious studies. Articles are cross referenced. Contains a synoptic outline and a detailed index.

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
Ref Room BP40 .E525 2004
Composed of over 500 essay entries, this two volume work is well illustrated and contains bibliographies at the end of each entry. It includes a genealogy and index detailing the contents.

Historical Dictionary of Islam
Ref Room BP50 .A33 2001
Provides a chronology of significant events from Muhammad's birth to the close of the 20th century. Concise alphabetically arranged entries have cross references. Includes an extensive bibliography.

Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an
Ref Room BP133 .E53 2001
The central English-language reference work for Qur'anic studies. The focus rests on the Qur'an itself rather than the history of interpretation, though references to interpretation occur throughout the text. Entry words are in English rather than transliterated Arabic. Essay-length articles address major topics, are signed, and include bibliographies of works in major Western languages. Contains various indices including an article and a proper names index.

Concordance of the Qur'an
Ref Room BP133 .K37 1983
A convenient resource for the non-Arabic student of the Qur'an. Each division first has vocabulary pertaining to Allah, and then remaining words. Besides the concordance proper entries in transliterated Arabic, there is an index in English.

Medieval Islamic Civilization
Ref Room DS36.85 .M434 2006
This two volume encyclopedia focuses on Islamic culture and civilization from the 6th to the 17th centuries. Providing overviews of a variety of topics, including Muslim philosophy, science, literature, and medicine, this resource is arranged in alphabetical order with entries from just a few paragraphs to several pages. Each entry has cross-references and also has a bibliography. Contains index.

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World
Ref Room DS35.53 .095 1995
This four volume encyclopedia contains over 750 articles dealing with all aspects of the Islamic world. It has chapter bibliographies, some of which are annotated. Articles are cross referenced. Contains a detailed index.

Encyclopedia of Islam [LIMITED TO 3 SIMULTANEOUS USERS]
Includes articles on distinguished Muslims of every era and origin, tribes and dynasties, crafts and sciences, political and religious institutions, the geography, ethnography, flora and fauna of various countries with significant Islamic populations and on the history, topography, monuments and other significant features of these nations. Updated annually.

Index Islamicus
The most comprehensive bibliography for Islamic studies. Produced by an editorial team working at the School of Oriental and African Studies in London, its records cover scholarship deemed significant to the field. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. bBoks are indexed down to the chapter level.

Oxford Dictionary of Islam
An online resource, this dictionary focuses on 19th and 20th century topics of modern Islam.


F&M LIBRARY CATALOG and E-Z BORROW

Search the catalog to find out what books, videos, maps, CDs, music, etc., the library owns.

To find a book, etc. begin by analyzing your topic or research question and break it down into its key concepts. These concepts become your search terms to use in the catalog's "Advanced Search" word or phrase function. Once you have found a record for an item that looks useful, click on a Subject Heading to retrieve other items with similar content.

WorldCat
Features nearly 60 million records of many types of material cataloged by libraries around the world.

E-Z BORROW
A free book-exchange service among ibraries in Pennsylvania and nearby states. If F&M's copy of a book s unavailable, try E-Z Borrow to get the book quickly! (Requires your F&M ID barcode number.)


JOURNAL INDICES & ARTICLE COLLECTIONS

To find a journal article use your search terms in an appropriate journal index or article collection, such as the ones listed below.
JSTOR
A collection of full text articles in .pdf format from the back files of over 200 scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to within the last 4 or 5 years.

Historical Abstracts
The most comprehensive indexing service in the field of non-U.S. and Canadian history from 1450 to the present. Covers materials published from 1955 to the present.

ATLA Religion Index
Comprehensive database in religious and theological scholarship. Covers materials published from 1949 to the present.


JOURNALS, MAGAZINES & NEWSPAPERS @ F&M and INTERLIBRARY LOAN (ILL)

After you have find journal articles that look useful (if they aren't available within an online full text article collection), you may have to determine whether or not the F&M Library owns those journals. If they aren't available within an online full text article collection, you will next use the JOURNALS FINDER feature on the Library's web site. If the library does not have a journal you need, and you have at least 1 week to 10 days before your assignment is due, you can submit an Interlibrary Loan: request journal articles & books request to have the journal article acquired for you by the library. Allow 3-7 days for the article to arrive.


WORLD WIDE WEB

The World Wide Web can be a helpful environment in which to access scholarly information but because it is an unmediated matrix it is advisable to start one's exploration of it at bona fide sites, such as...
Islam and Islamic Studies Resources
A gateway to links for Islamic study resources on the Web, including the Qur'an, hadith,Sunnah, Shi'ism, Sufism, Islam in the modern world, militant Islam, jihad, extremist Muslims terrorism, Islam in Iraq, Muslim women, Islamic art, architecture, music, Islamic history, theology, philosophy, and Arabic and other Islamic languages.


Last updated: 11/16/11 mg. Contact Marty Gordon for further assistance.

 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223