Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


PSY 175 - Introduction to Cognitive Science



How to Find Books

  • Select the Books & More tab on the Library's web site. In finding books for this class, choose More Search Options and use word, phrase, and subject terms relevant to your topic.
  • When you discover a book of interest, click on the title and select the "Catalog Record" tab to look at the assigned subject headings for that item. Note related subject headings, and click on them to find other books that are described in a similar way, and may prove useful.
  • Remember to look for call numbers in both the STACKS and the REFERENCE ROOM. Call numbers are designed to mirror themselves in these two areas. If you find a valuable book in the Stacks, you will find similar, high quality Reference items under the same call number in the Reference Room.


Selected Reference Resources

Use these as points of departure for background on class topics. There are many other Reference books and books you can find on topics related to this course, as described above.

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
A wide ranging encyclopedia that will provide helpful articles on topics in psychology, philosophy and related fields.

MIT CogNet - trial good until November 1, 2011
Preeminent resources in artificial intelligence, linguistics, neuroscience, psychology, philosophy and education. An ever-growing electronic collection of relevant books and journals, provides access to ten major reference works published by the MIT Press, including the MIT Encyclopedia of the Cognitive Sciences.

Oxford Companion to the Mind
A one volume compilation of virtually every important aspect of mind, brain and consciousness, with over 300 contributors from the world's leading scholars.

The Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
A regularly updated online encyclopedia of philosophy, great for background information on a topic or person.

The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Another continuously updated online encyclopedia of philosophy, written by current experts.


Journal Article (Scholarly Literature) Resources

The databases below are designed to point you toward high quality, scholarly journal articles and other publications related to this class. These resources are perfect for your project research.
Philosopher's Index
The comprehensive scholarly database covering books and journals published since 1940 in philosophy.

PsycARTICLES
Contains searchable full text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association and related organizations.

PsycINFO
The APA's index of journals, books, dissertations, and reports on psychology and related fields. Covers 1887 to the present.

Web of Science - Science and Social Science Citation Indexes
The Institute of Scientific Information's premier citation databases in the physical, life, and social sciences. Search for articles that cite a known author or work or by standard search queries. Covers 1965 to the present.


Need additional help?

Try the Psychology and Philosophy Subject Pages or

contact Scott Vine by email or IM at svine35 for further assistance

Updated 9/12/2011 sv

 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223