Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


MUS 370: Pops & Jelly Roll



Reference Resources & Books

New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
Ref ML 100 .N48
Grove Music Online
Online version of Grove (Oxford) is updated quarterly and is considered to be the premier authority on music.

Illustrated Encyclopedia of Musical Instruments
Ref ML 102 .I5 I5

Library Catalog
Try searching "words or phrase" first, then take a look at the various Subject Headings to lead you to related materials. Searches could be limited for location, such as Media Services for audio or video recordings.

Sample searches:
ti: new orleans
ti: chicago OR new orleans AND jazz
new orleans AND ("louis armstrong" OR "jelly roll morton")

WorldCat
The OCLC Online Union Catalog. Over 80 million records of many types of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries around the world. Updated daily. While Worldcat will reveal far more many books on New Orleans history and jazz, you will most likely require Interlibrary Loan or E-Z Borrow to obtain research materials.


Online Resources

JStor
A collection of abstracts and articles from scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years. You can search for both Articles and Reviews from many Music journal titles.

RILM Music Abstracts
Over 200,000 citations on international music describing books, articles, and dissertations. Produced by the Repertoire Internationale de Litterature Musicale. Covers 1967 to the present.

America's Historical Newspapers
Fully searchable, cover-to-cover reproductions of early American newspapers including titles from all 50 present states. Includes: Early American Newspapers, Series 1 (1690-1876), Early American Newspapers, Series 2 (1758-1900) and Early American Newspapers, Series 3 (1829-1922).

New York Times
The New York Times (Sep 18, 1851 - Dec 31, 2007, full-text) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

America: History and Life
Comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to present.

Youtube
On Youtube you might find recent performances of old and new compositions. Here's a clip of Billie Holiday & Louis Armstrong - New Orleans

Last updated: 1/24/12 ag, contact Andy Gulati for assistance, 291-4261

 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223