Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


MUS 229: Music in Cultural Perspective



Print Resources

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
Ref ML100 .G16 1998

New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
Ref ML 100 .N48 (also online)

Illustrated Encyclopedia of Musical Instruments
Ref ML 102 .I5 I5

Europa World Year Book, 2 vols.
Ref D 2 E8


Music Online Resources

Grove Music Online
Online version of the New Grove Dictionary of Music, this online resource is updated quarterly and is considered to be the premier authority on music. Includes New Grove Dictionary of Opera and the New Grove Dictionary of Jazz.

JSTOR
A collection of abstracts and articles from over 200 scholarly journals, many dating from the n ineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years. Newly added Business collection. Always a stong History resource.

Lexis-Nexis
Excellent source for full-text, up-to-date reviews and critiques of composer scores and performances, in newspapers and magazines.

NPR.org
National Public Radio often has streaming audio of previous broadcasts. You might find interviews and performances of composers and musicians. In particular, try Fresh Air. Terry Gross often conducts interviews with musicians.

Classical Music Library
Classical Music Library offers an impressive classical music collection enabling you to listen to a continually growing collection - currently over 20,000 titles. This Classical Music Library service is a complete collection of recordings, accompanied by a vast reference database.


Country & Cultural Online Resources

Country Studies
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the ocial, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.

CQ (Congressional Quarterly) Researcher
Published in print and online 44 times a year, the single-themed CQ Researcher report offers i n-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.

PAIS
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) is an index to policy-oriented literature (books, journal articles and U.S. and foreign government documents). International coverage of information about political, economic and social issues and events in specific countries. Covers both the International and Archives of PAIS. Covers 1914 to the present.

Youtube
Many musicians have recordings and interviews on Youtube. Might be a good resource to gather ideas about a performer, and to hear different interviewing styles. For example, here is an excellent clip with Corey Harris, who recently played at Common Hour.


Last updated: 11/7/11 ag, contact Andy Gulati for assistance, 291-4261
 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223