Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


MAT 372: Dynamical Systems



Locating Books

Book Catalog
Great for doing background research on current topics. Try a variety of subject headings that describe your interests.


Article Indexes and Full Text Resources

General Science Full Text
Covers 150 English-language periodicals in all areas of the sciences.

JSTOR
A collection of full text articles from hundreds of scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years. Use the Advanced Search, specify Articles, and choose Mathematics as a subject area.

MathSciNet
Encompassing both Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications, this index is the most comprehensive in the discipline. Covers 1940 to the present.

Web of Science (ISI)
The Institute of Scientific Information's premier citation databases in the physical, life, and social sciences. Search for articles that cite a known author or work or by standard search queries. Covers 1970 to the present.


Evaluating and Citing

The Writing Center. Using Outside Sources: A Student's Guide to Paraphrasing, Quoting, and Acknowledging Sources. 10th ed. Lancaster, PA: Franklin & Marshall College, Spring 2009.
http://www.fandm.edu/Documents/Departments/WritingCenter/UsingOutsideSources10thEdition.pdf
Includes an excellent section on evaluating print and online sources, as well as many sample citations in three major styles.


Additional Help

Email Scott Vine, Reference Services Librarian, at scott.vine@fandm.edu or call him at 717-291-3840 for further assistance


Last updated: 1/25/10 sv,.

 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223