Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


IST 426: Human Rights/Human Wrongs



I. REFERENCE SOURCES

Encyclopedia of Democracy 4 vols.
Ref. Balcony JC 423 .E53 1995

Amnesty International Report 2013: The State of the World's Human Rights
Ref. Balcony JC 571 .L571 .A44 2013

Human Rights Watch World Report 2011: Events of 2013
Ref. Balcony JC 571 .L571 .H785 2013

Encyclopedia of Human Rights 5 vols.
Ref. Balcony JC 571 .E673 2009


II. SELECTED SOURCES ON COUNTRIES

The Far East and Australasia, 2013
Ref. DS 1 .F3 2013

The Middle East and North Africa, 2012
Ref. DS 49 .M5 2012

Africa South of the Sahara, 2013
Ref. DT 351 .A37 2013

South America, Central America and the Caribbean, 2014
Ref. F 1408.29 .S69 2014

These titles are similar to the Europa World Yearbook, but with more detailed profiles of the countries.

Country Reports on Human Rights Practices for 2010 (U.S. Dept. of State)
Ref JC 571 .U48 2010
The 2011 and 2012 reports are available online at the State Department's web page.


III. ELECTRONIC RESOURCES

Lexis-Nexis
Connections to full-text newspaper articles (including the New York Times), business information, and legal resources. Use the "Sources" tab to find articles published in different regions and countries of the world. The "Legal" tab is where you search for federal and state court cases.

Westlaw, Campus Research
Research service, includes: thousands of news databases arranged geographically and topically; hundreds of newswires as well as business, trade and professional journals and publications; and superior law-related resources, including both primary law and analysis.

NewsBank
Full-text access to major U.S. and international newspapers, including the Philadelphia Inquirer, Chicago Tribune, and local Lancaster newspapers. Coverage varies, 5 to 20 years.

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.

Social Sciences Full Text
(Indexing: 1983 - Current; Abstracting: March 1994 - Current) Indexes and abstracts over 400 English-language periodicals in all areas of the social sciences, including politics and economics.

Federal Digital System (FDSys)
This is the primary web page for government information, hosted by the U.S. Government Printing Office. In addition to full-text access to presidential, congressional, and court publications, there is an index of government publications from 1994 to the present. This is a good place to find Congressional Committee hearings and State Department reports.

Yahoo Government Links
Follow the menus and search for information about countries, regions, and organizations.

U.S. Department of State
Includes press releases, embassy contacts, and Background Notes on other countries. The online version of the Country Reports on Human Rights is available here (in the section for Democracy and Global Affairs).

Amnesty International
Contains news items and reports on human rights violations throughout the world.

Freedom House
Includes online access to the annual Freedom in the World reports. See Publications.

Area Handbook Series
The electronic version of the Country Studies from the Library of Congress.

United Nations
Contains useful links to material about human rights and economic development.

World Bank
Includes reports on global economic prospects, countries and regions.


Last updated: 1/29/14 tk, contact Tom Karel for assistance - 291-3845
 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223