Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


IST 200: International Studies



General Reference Sources

Europa World Year Book, 2 vols.
Ref D 2 E8
Quick source for history and recent statistics on a country.

Environmental Encyclopedia
Sci Ref GE 10 .E57
Brief entries on environmental topics. Very timely and & user-friendly.

World Development Report
Ref HC 59.7 .W659
Published by the World Bank

International Financial Statistics
Ref. HG 3883 .I626 - monthly, with a yearbook
International Monetary Fund

Encyclopedia of the European Union
Ref JN 30 .E52
An alphabetical listing of topics, countries and people with 12 appended tables.


Indexes and Abstracts

CQ (Congressional Quarterly) Researcher
Published in print and online 44 times a year, the single-themed CQ Researcher report offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. You can view and search across all of our CQ resources here.

Lexis-Nexis
Connections to newspaper articles (including New York Times and Washington Post), business information (including SEC filings and Country Profiles), and legal resources (including state and federal case law).

JSTOR
A collection of abstracts and articles from over 200 scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years. Newly added Business collection. Always a stong History resource.

PAIS International
Index to policy-oriented literature (books, journal articles and U.S. and foreign government documents). International coverage of information about political, economic and social issues and events in specific countries. Covers 1972 to the present.

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.

World Development Indicators
A data source on the global economy, this resource contains statistical data for over 600 development indicators and time series data from 1960 to the latest compiled for over 200 countries as well as 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.

Historical Abstracts
Comprehensive international historical coverage (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Covers abstracts from 1955 to the present.

Business Full Text, Wilson
Indexes more than 300 international English-language business magazines covering accounting, finance, management, and small business. Covers January 1986 to the present.

General Science Full Text
Journals and magazines from the U.S. and Great Britain, covering all major scientific fields. Indexing from 1984 to present, abstracting from 1993 to present.


Internet Resources

Background Notes (Department of State)
Current information for most countries; including, geography, people, government, economy and history.

Country Studies
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.

Environmental News Network

European Union

InfoNation
Access to statistical data for the member states of the United Nations.

International Monetary Fund

World Bank
Includes special reports on global economic prospects.

Last updated: 3/9/09 ag, contact Andy Gulati for assistance, 291-4261
 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223