Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


IST 174: International Studies: Facts and Fictions



REFERENCE SOURCES

Use reference sources to get ideas for topics, to get background information, and to guide you to additional information.
Patterns of global terrorism 1985-2005
REF HV6431 .P3773 2005 Vols 1-2

Terrorism: essential primary documents
REF HV6431 .T465 2006

Regional guide to international conflict and management from 1945 to 2003
REF D842 .B464 2004

Encyclopedia of modern ethnic conflicts
REF GN496 .E56 2003

Encyclopedia of politics and religion 2nd ed.
REF BL65 .P7 E53 2007

Globalization : the key concepts
REF JZ1318 .G5645 2007

Immigration and migration
REF JV6201 .B35 2008

Encyclopedia of world poverty
REF HV12 .E54 2006 Vols 1-3

Encyclopedia of global health
SCI REF RA441 .E53 2008

Dictionary of health economics and finance
SCI REF RA410 .A3 D53 2007


ONLINE SOURCES:

AccessScience @ McGraw-Hill: The Online Encyclopedia of Science & Technology

Encyclopedia of genocide and crimes against humanity

IST 174: International Studies: Facts and Fictions- Statistics


F&M LIBRARY CATALOG & E-Z BORROW: BOOKS

Search the catalog to find out what books, journals, newspapers, videos, maps, CDs, music, etc., the library owns.
NOTE: There are no journal articles in the catalog!

E-Z Borrow
A free book-exchange service among academic libraries in Pennsylvania. If F&M's copy of a book you want is unavailable, try E-Z Borrow to get the book quickly!

[Requires your F&M ID barcode number.]


INDEXES & ARTICLE COLLECTIONS

Business Source Premier
A comprehensive business research database, providing full text access for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications and over 8,000 other periodicals. Covers marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. Detailed profiles of 10,000 companies are included. Updated daily.

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.

General Science Full Text
Journals and magazines from the U.S. and Great Britain, covering all major scientific fields. Indexing from 1984 to present, abstracting from 1993 to present.

Historical Abstracts
Comprehensive international historical coverage (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Covers abstracts from 1955 to the present.

JStor
A collection of abstracts and articles from over 100 scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years. Choose PRINT from within JStor to print articles at proper margin settings. You may need to go to SET PREFERENCES to select desired Printing preferences. Choose PDF: Economy. Call the Reference Desk (x4217) or Ask Andy for assistance.

Lexis Nexis Academic
Connections to newspaper articles (including New York Times and Washington Post), business information (including SEC filings), and legal resources (including state and federal case law).

PAIS International
Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) is an index to policy-oriented literature (books, journal articles and U.S. and foreign government documents). International coverage of information about political, economic and social issues and events in specific countries. Covers 1972 to the present.

Social Sciences Full Text
Indexes over 300 English-language periodicals covering anthropology, economics, psychology, social work, sociology, and related fields. Covers 1983 to the present.



JOURNALS, MAGAZINES & NEWSPAPERS, INTERLIBRARY LOAN (ILL)


To determine whether or not the F&M Library owns a journal, use the Journals feature on the Library's web site. If the library does not have a journal you need, and you have at least 1 week - 10 days before your assignment is due, you can submit an Interlibrary Loan: request journal articles & books (ILL) request to have the journal article acquired or you by the library. Allow 3-7 days for the article to arrive.

If you have any questions, concerns, etc., please contact:
Pam Snelson, College Librarian,
291-3896 or pamela.snelson@fandm.edu<

Last updated: 09/16/08 jb,ps
 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223