Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


IST 170: Two Sacred Languages, One Holy Land




BACKGROUND INFORMATION

Use reference sources to get ideas for topics, to get background information, and to guide you to additional information.
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa
REF DS43 .E53 2004 Vol. 1-4

An Ecyclopedic Dictionary of Language and Languages
REF P29.C68 1992

Encyclopedia of Linguistics
REF P29 .E483 2005 Vol 1-2

Atlas of the world's languages
REF ATLAS G1046 .E3 A8 2007

Atlas of the Middle East
REF ATLAS G2205 .N34 2008

The State of the Middle East: an Atlas of Conflict and Resolution
REF ATLAS G2205 .S653 2006

Historical atlas of the Middle East
REF ATLAS G2206 .S1 F7 1993

Dictionary of Languages : The definitive Reference to More than 400 Languages
REF P29 .D35 1998

Language and Communication: A Cross-cultural Encyclopedia
REF P29 .F47 1998

Key Concepts in Language and Linguistics
REF P29 .T687 1999

Encyclopedia of the World's Endangered Languages
REF P40.5 .L332 E45 2007

Concise Encyclopedia of Language and Religions
REF P41 .C65 2001

The Atlas of Languages : The Origin and Development of Languages Throughout the World
REF P106 .L67 1996

Encyclopedic Dictionary of Applied Linguistics
REF P129 .E53 1998

Concise Compendium of the World's Languages
REF P371 .C37 1995

Facts About the World's Languages : An Encyclopedia of the World's Major Languages, Past and Present
REF P371 .F33 2000



F&M LIBRARY CATALOG and E-Z BORROW

Search the catalog to find out what books, journals, newspapers, videos, maps, CDs, music, etc., the library owns.

NOTE: There are no journal articles in the catalog!

To find a book, begin by conducting a Keyword search our your topic. Analyze your topic or research question and break it down into its key concepts, which becomes the Keyword search. Once you have found a record for an item that looks useful, click on a Subject Heading to retrieve other items with similar content.


Indexes and Article Collections

Available from the Library web page under Articles: access an A to Z List of our databases. Browse the entire list to find databases relevant to your particular topic. The databases listed below are most likely to be useful:
Anthropology Plus
This resource is the combination of Anthropology Index and Anthropological Literature. Provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Covers over 2500 journals, 19th century to the present. Updated quarterly.

Historical Abstracts
Comprehensive international historical coverage (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Covers abstracts from 1955 to the present.

Lexis-Nexis
Connections to newspaper articles (including New York Times and Washington Post), business information (including SEC filings), and legal resources (including state and federal case law).

MLA Bibliography
The Modern Language Association's index of articles, book chapters and essays in literature, languages, and folklore. Covers 1963 to the present.

PAIS International
Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) is an index to policy-oriented literature (books, journal articles and U.S. and foreign government documents). International coverage of information about political, economic and social issues and events in specific countries. Covers 1972 to the present.

Readers' Guide Full Text
Indexes over 200 popular U.S. general interest periodicals. Covers 1983 to the present.

Readers' Guide Retrospective
Comprehensive indexing of 500 of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. The complete database covers the years 1890 through 1982.

Sociological Abstracts
Full version comprehensive database of over 1500 journals covering sociology, social work, and other social sciences. Covers 1963 to the present.

Wilson Select Plus
Provides indexed and abstracted records with accompanying full-text periodical articles, many of which are linked to citations in other FirstSearch databases.



Journals, Magazines & Newspapers @ F&M and Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

To determine whether or not the F&M Library owns a journal, use the JOURNALS: search our catalog of print and online journals feature on the Library's web site. If the library does not have a journal you need, and you have at least 1 week to 10 days before your assignment is due, you can submit an Interlibrary Loan: request journal articles & books request to have the journal article acquired for you by the library. Allow 3-7 days for the article to arrive.


CITATION GUIDES

Under the How To tab on the Library web page select Cite or Evaluate for information on citation styles, and advice on how to evaluate print resources and web sites.


If you have any questions, would like further assistance, etc, contact:

Pamela Snelson, College Librarian,
291-3896 or pamela.snelson@fandm.edu

Last updated: 9/09 jb/ps

 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223