HIS 360: History Workshop: Methods and Practices
Researching in Libraries:
Consider: information/knowledge creation, publication, archiving
>creating new knowledge by using and attributing sources ethically and legally
Consider: language variations used in...all of the above!
Consider: physical nature of the item to determine where your search begins:
- Book/Monograph = Library Catalog to confirm holdings and obtain a description
- Periodical/Magazine/Journal/Newspaper Articles = print or online index, and/or online archive, to discover publication contents,
description and method of access
- Government Information = respective agency web site, depository library-catalog, plus government and/or
commercially produced indexes and finding aids. Libraries vary in methods of catalog representation and physical organization.
Most government publications are assigned a unique Superintendent of Documents (SuDoc) number, which can be useful for locating the item in depository libraries.
Searching catalogs and indexes to find location & citation data at F&M:
- Library Catalog: Location: Ref Area
- Library Web Site: Subject Guides: History: Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Handbooks & Bibliographies
- Books: Library Catalog, WorldCat [EZ-Borrow if necessary; ILL=back-up]
- Articles: Library Web Site: A-Z list of indexes/databases and/or Subject Guides: History [ILL if necessary]
- Library Catalog: [EZ Borrow if necessary; ILL=back-up]
- WorldCat: [EZ Borrow if necessary; ILL=back-up]
*Library of Congress Subject Language for primary material:
*documents, interviews, correspondence, letters, speeches, diaries, narratives, sources, collections
- Internet-mediated Library Subscription Indexes/Databases/Archives featuring historical materials which may be considered primary sources [ILL if necessary]:
- Accessible Archives, 18th & 19th c. periodicals
- America's Historical Newspapers
- Archive Finder, a directory
- The New York Times, 1851-2006
- Nineteenth Century Masterfile
- PAIS Archive, 1915-1976
- Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature, Retrospective, 1890-1982
- Library Print Indexes/Abstracts:
- Located in the "Microforms Room" at Shadek-Fackenthal
Locating library materials at F&M using location & citation data:
Books/Monographs: by LC call number
Articles: by format, as indicated via "Journal Finder"
- Current/Active subscription = Periodicals Room, 1st floor
- "Bound" = Ground floor, south
- Microform (film/fiche) = 1st floor, behind Ref Desk
- Full-Text, Digital = by library subscription, free if available
Contact Lisa Stillwell for further assistance.
Last updated: 2/12 ls,jb