Email or Text Us
Chat With Us
Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Frequently Asked of Us
Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.
Visit or Call Us
Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Meet With Us
Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.
Grad Schools & Jobs
Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.
HIS 316: Tudor & Stuart England
Reminder: Click here for an overview of basic Library policies and services.
Reference Resources - Encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and bibliographies
Reference or secondary sources are informational resources written by individuals who were not the actual participants in the topic at hand. They may be of value to your research since they often provide greater objectivity and different perspectives as a result of the passage of time. Common secondary sources include encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and bibliographies.
Please Note: The general call number range for History of Great Britain is DA1-DA995
The general call number range for the Tudors through the Later Stuarts is DA310-DA463
Search Terminology - Keywords and Subject Headings
When conducting research, always consider alternative keywords and subject headings for your topic. Begin by analyzing your topic or research question, and break it down into its key concepts. What keywords appear? Are there alternative keywords that come to mind?
For this course, keywords may include: House of Tudor, Early Stuarts, Elizabethan Age, Civil War, Cavaliers, Roundheads, Commonwealth, Restoration, Later Stuarts, Glorious Revolution, etc.
Subject headings may include: "Great Britain--History--Tudors, 1485-1603.", or "Great Britain--Court and courtiers--History--17th century.", or "Great Britain--History--Revolution of 1688." etc.
How to find books
How to find and locate journal articles
Start by consulting the following electronic resources:
For additional article resources, look under the Electronic Resources - A to Z List on the Library homepage.
Don't Forget: Always consult the bibliography at the end of a journal article for additional resources!
World Wide Web
The World Wide Web can be a helpful environment in which to access scholarly information. To search for more authoritative sites, use mediated search directories such as the Librarians Index to the Internet or Google Scholar.
Digitised Historical Parliamentary Material
Published Parliamentary material has been digitised and made available on the Internet by various organisations. The information on the pages listed within summarise the main series of material which are available in electronic form.
History of the Monarchy
The historical portion of the "official web site of the British Monarchy" contains many informative biographies, timelines, and genealogical charts for the ruling dynasties of England, Scotland, and the United Kingdom.
Palaeography Tutorial - UK National Archives
Extremely informative and fun web tutorial that will help you learn to read and transcribe English documents written between 1500 and 1800. Practice documents include wills, petitions, estate inventories, and unusual material such as a "Recipe for mince pies (Early 17th century)." From the National Archives (Surrey, United Kingdom) in partnership with University College London.
Palaeography Tutorial - The Ducking Stool Game
Test your paleaology skills and save the accused woman from her watery punishment!
Other "How To's"...
Research Tips: Citation Guide, Footnotes & Parenthetical Citation, Evaluating Materials, How to connect from off campus?, Glossary
Additional Research Assistance
Email or call Christopher Raab at firstname.lastname@example.org or 717-291-4225, or ASK US!
Last updated: 2/2/11 cr