Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


HIS 226: 20th Century Russian History



Library Catalog

The best subject heading to search for recent books is "Russia (Federation)" Also, "Russia History 20th Century" is useful. Doing a keyword search by your topic is anotheerr suggested approach, espepcially when combined with the term "Russia" or "Russian" (e.g., religion and Russia).

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Encyclopedia of Russian History 4 vols.
Ref. DK 14 .E53 2003

Modern Encyclopedia of Russian, Soviet, and Eurasian History
69 vols. - so far!
Ref. DK 14 .M6

Russia: A Reference Guide from the Renaissance to the Present
Ref. DK 36 .B59 2004

Historical Dictionary of Russia
Ref. DK 36 .R39 1997

Dictionary of the Russian Revolution
Ref. DK 265 .D49 1989

Russia and the Independent States
Ref. DK 293 .D552 1993

Russia and Eurasia Documents Annual - 1992 to the present
an excellent source for primary material: speeches, reports, articles
Ref. DK 293 .R97

The Territories of the Russian Federation, 2008
Ref. DK 293 .T47 2008


Abstracts and Indexes (Periodical Articles)

Historical Abstracts
Indexing for scholarly journals dealing with world history. Most citations include brief abstracts of the articles. Publications extend back to 1954. Subject coverage is from 1450 to the present.

Humanities Full Text
Indexing for scholarly journals, from 1983 to the present; contains abstracts and some full-text material. The major history journals are included.

JStor
Full-text articles from over 600 scholarly journals. Coverage varies; recent years are not included.

Project Muse
Full-text articles from almost 250 scholarly journals. Coverage varies; usually from 1995 or 1996 to the present.

WorldCat
Over 50 million records of many types from libraries around the world.


Major Journals

Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press
Continues: Current Digest of the Soviet Press
V. 44 - (1993 -) Bound
V. 53 - (2001 -) online at publisher

Current Digest of the Soviet Press
Continued by: Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press
V. 14-43 (1962-19992) Bound

Europe-Asia Studies
Continues: Soviet Studies
V. 45 - (1993 -) Bound
V. 45 - (1993 - 4 years ago) online at JStor
V. 51 - (1997 - ) online at publisher

European History Quarterly
V. 16 - (1986 -) Bound

Journal of European Studies
V. 15 - (1985 -) Bound

Russian History / Histoire Russe
V. 17 - (1990 -) Bound

Russian Review
V.1-27 (1941-68) Bound
V.28-60 (1969-2001) on Microfilm
V. 61 - (2002 -) Bound for latest 10 years only
V. 1 - (1941 -) to 6 years ago available at JStor
Vol. 57 - (1998 - ) online from the publisher

Slavic and East European Journal
V. 20-40 (1976-1996) Microfilm
V. 41 - (1997 -) Bound
V. 1 - (1957 - 4 years ago) online at JStor

Slavic Review
V.1-60 (1941-2001) Microfilm
V. 61 - (2002 -) Bound for latest 10 years only
V. 4-20 (1945-1961) online at JStor
V. 20 - (1961 - 2 years ago) online at JStor

Slavonic and East European Review
V. 42-45, 47 - (1963 -) Bound
V. 79 - (2001 -) online at Ingenta

Soviet Review
V. 1-21 (1960-1980) Bound
V. 22-32 (1981-1991) on Microfilm

Soviet Studies
continued by Europe-Asia Studies V. 1-41 (1949-1989) on Microfilm
V. 42-44 (1990-1992) Bound


Internet Resources

Internet sites can be helpful but evaluate them critically. See:

Russia Today (Middlebury College)
http://community.middlebury.edu/~beyer/RT/frameindex/frame.shtml

REES Web (University of Pittsburgh)
http://www.ucis.pitt.edu/reesweb/
The Virtual Library for Russian and East European Studies. This is a comprehensive annotated index of recommended web sites.

Yale Russian Archive Project (Yale University)
http://www.yale.edu/rusarch/archive.html
A gateway into the newly available documents found in the archives of the former Soviet Union.

Revelations from the Russian Archives (Library of Congress)
http://www.loc.gov/exhibits/archives/intro.html
An online exhibit of material from the Soviet Archive.

Central Eurasian Studies Worldwide (Harvard University)
http://cesww.fas.harvard.edu/
A repository of resources for the study of Central Asia.

Maps of Russia and the former Soviet Union (University of Texas)
http://www.lib.utexas.edu/maps/commonwealth.html

Yahoo Directory of Russia Web Sites
http://www.dir.yahoo.com/Regional/Countries/Russia/

Google
http://www.google.com
You can always do an advanced Google search on "Russia" and your area of interest, limiting to English and .edu domain.


Last updated: 3/8/10 tk, contact Tom Karel for assistance, 291-3845 or Christopher Raab, 291-4225
 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223