Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


HIS 153: Race in American History



Reference Resources - Encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and bibliographies

Reference or secondary sources are informational resources written by individuals who were not the actual participants in the topic at hand. They may be of value to your research since they often provide greater objectivity and different perspectives as a result of the passage of time. Common secondary sources include encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and bibliographies.

Please Note: The general call number range for History: America - United States is E151-E889
The general call number range for Social Sciences - Communities. Classes. Races is HT151-HT1595

Racial and Ethnic Relations in America
Ref Room E49 .R33 2000 Vol. 1-3

Jewish-American History and Culture: An Encyclopedia
Ref Room E184 .J5 J48 1992

Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History
Ref Room E185 .E54 1996 Vol. 1-5

Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America
Ref Room E185.61 E544 1998 Vol. 1-3

Encyclopedia of American Immigration
Ref Room JV6465 .E53 2001 Vol. 1-4

Encyclopedia of the Harlem Renaissance
Ref Room NX512.3.A35 E53 2004 Vol. 1-2


Search Terminology - Keywords and Subject Headings

When conducting research, always consider alternative keywords and subject headings for your topic. Begin by analyzing your topic or research question, and break it down into its key concepts. What keywords appear? Are there alternative keywords that come to mind?

For this course, keywords may include: ethnicity, race, class, color, groups, minorities, racism, stereotypes, discrimination, segregation etc.

Subject headings may include: "Ethnicity--United States", or "North America--Race relations" or "Immigrants--United States" etc.


How to find and locate books and films

  • Click here to link to the F&M Library Catalog. In finding books for this class, try using the keyword and subject terms mentioned above.
  • When you discover a book of interest, select the title to see the complete "Item Information." Click on "Catalog Record" to look at the assigned subject headings for that item. Note related subject headings, and click on them to find other books that are described in a similar way, and may prove useful.
  • Remember to search out call numbers in both the STACKS and the REFERENCE ROOM. Call numbers are designed to mirror themselves in these two areas. If you find a valuable book in the STACKS, you will find similar, high quality REFERENCE items under the same call number in the REFERENCE ROOM.

How to find and locate journal articles

Start by consulting the following electronic resources:

JSTOR
A collection of abstracts and articles from over 250 scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years.

OmniFile Full Text Mega
Access to full text articles, page images, article abstracts, and citations from thousands of sources. Coverage back as early as 1982.

ANB Online - American National Biography
The American National Biography includes more than 17,400 men and women whose lives have shaped the nation. Updated quarterly.

New York Times - Full Image
The New York Times (Sep 18, 1851 - Dec 31, 2005, full-text) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

America: History and Life
Comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to present. Covers abstracts 1964 to the present.

If the article you find is available in full-text, follow the appropriate links. If not, take note of the JOURNAL NAME being cited, and go to the Journals at F&M page to see if the library subscribes to the journal. If so, locate the journal in print or microfilm, and make a copy for your research.

For additional article resources, look under the Electronic Resources - A to Z List on the Library homepage.

Don't Forget: Always consult the bibliography at the end of a journal article for additional resources!


World Wide Web

The World Wide Web can be a helpful environment in which to access scholarly information. To search for more authoritative sites and information, use mediated search directories such as Google Scholar.

"I Will Be Heard!": Abolitionism in America
A well-organized, content-rich site with a wide range of authoritative information. Includes profiles of prominent abolitionists, slave narratives, background on the Emancipation Proclamation and the 13th Amendment, critical resources on Harriet Beecher Stowe's "Uncle Tom's Cabin," and much more. From Cornell University, Division of Rare & Manuscript Collections.

Lower East Side Tenement Museum
New York's Lower East Side Tenement Museum is the first in the United States to preserve a tenement building. Between the years 1870 and 1915, 97 Orchard Street was home to over ten thousand people, mostly new immigrants. The site includes a history of the building, dioramas of individual rooms, a virtual tour, and photographs by Arnold Eagle.


Additional Help


Contact Christopher Raab for further assistance or fill out a research appointment request form to meet with a librarian.

Last updated: 8/12/11 cmr

 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223