Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


GOV 470: The American Politician: Presidents



I. REFERENCE SOURCES

American Presidents (2 vols.)
Ref. E 176.1 .A6563 2006

American Presidents: Year by Year (3 vols.)
Ref. E 176.1 .N44 2004

Vice Presidents
Ref. E 176.49 .V52 2005

Encyclopedia of the American Presidency (4 vols.)
Ref. Balcony JF 511 .E53 1994

Encyclopedia of the American Presidency
Ref. Balcony JF 511 .G45 2010

The Presidency A to Z, 4th Ed.
Ref. Balcony JK 511 .P775 2008
A good dictionary of terms and concepts.

Congressional Quarterly's Guide to the Presidency, 4th Ed. (2 vols.)
Ref. Balcony JK 516 .C57 2008

Vital Statistics on the Presidency, 3rd Ed.
Ref. Balcony JF 518 .R34 2009

New York Times on the Presidency, 1853-2008
Ref. Balcony JF 554 .B67 2009

Encyclopedia of American Political Parties and Elections
Ref. Balcony JK 2261 .S218 2006
[ additional resourcess on voting and elections can be found in this area ]


II. OFFICIAL DOCUMENTS

PUBLIC PAPERS OF THE PRESIDENTS
U.S. Docs GS 4.113: (1929-1931; 1945-1983)
U.S. Docs AE 2.114: (1984 - present)

Also available online (see below)
An annual compilation of all presidential documents, including speeches, interviews, and press conferences.

Presidential Documents
See U.S. Docs Pr and PrEx for publications issued by the White House and by the Executive Office of the President

United States Government Manual, 2011
Ref. JK 421 .A3, kept at Reference Desk
Issued every October, this is the official directory of the U. S. government. The Manual provides information on the agencies of the executive, legislative and judicial branches of government, as well as quasi-official agencies, boards, and commissions. A list of the principal officials is provided, with descriptive information (statement of purpose, brief history, major programs and activities). This is a good source for addresses and phone numbers of specific offices. Older editions are kept in the regular book stacks. Can also be searched in FDSys (see below)


III. ELECTRONIC RESOURCES

FDSys (Federal Digital System)
A service of the US Government Printing Office and the Superintendent of Documents, this provides access to a wealth of current government information. It includes online access to Presidential documents, public laws, Supreme Court opinions, and federal regulations. This replaces GPO Access.

COMPILATION OF PRESIDENTIAL DOCUMENTS
Online access to all Presidential speeches, remarks, interviews, and documents, from 1993 to the present. Updates occur as items are released from the White House press office.

PUBLIC PAPERS OF THE PRESIDENTS
Covers 1991 to 2006, from GPO Access. The Public Papers can also be searched, but not browsed, in FDSys.

PUBLIC PAPERS OF THE PRESIDENTS
Covers 1929 to 2001; from the University of Michigan.

Presidential Libraries
Links to the official libraries of modern U. S. presidents, Hoover through George W. Bush The libraries contain official documents, artifacts, and audio-visual materials (such as campaign debates and advertisements).

American Presidency Project
This is an archival collection held at the University of California, Santa Barbara, and contains over 99,000 documents related to the study of the Presidency. Much of this material has been digitized.

Lexis-Nexis
Connections to full-text newspaper articles (including the New York Times and the Washington Post), business information, and legal resources.

New York Times
The New York Times (Sep 18, 1851 - Dec 31, 2004, full-text) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

America: History and Life
Comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to present. Covers abstracts 1964 to the present.

Social Sciences Full Text
Indexes over 300 English-language periodicals covering anthropology, economics, political science, psychology, social work, sociology, and related fields. Includes both Abstracts and Full Text Articles. Covers 1983 to the present.


IV. JOURNALS

PRESIDENTIAL STUDIES QUARTERLY
V.5-18 (1975-88) on MIcrofilm
V.19 (1989)- Bound
This is a major scholarly journal on the presidency. Also available for the past 11 years online

JStor
A full text archive that includes many major political science and history journals.


Last updated: 2/1/12 tk, contact Tom Karel for assistance - 291-3845.
 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223