Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


GOV 410: Health Policy



LAWS AND REGULATIONS

United States Statutes at Large
Ref. Balcony KF 50 .U52 (1893 - )
This is the first permanent form of federal laws. One or more volumes are compiled for each legislative session. Recent laws are issued in "slip" format, arranged by Public Law number. Public Laws from 1995 to the present are available on FDSys.

United States Code
Ref. Balcony KF 62 1992 .A2
This is the official codification of all federal laws, divided into 50 subject areas (or titles). Specific subject indexing is included, as well as a listing of the laws by popular names. Title 21 is Food and Drugs; Title 42 is Public Health and Welfare. Also available on FDSys.

Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)
Ref. Balcony KF 70 .A34
This is a subject accumulation of rules currently in force, also divided into 50 titles (most of which correspond to the United States Code). It is nothing less than "a codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the Executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government." There is a separate index volume to the CFR. Title 21 is Food and Drugs (9 vols.) and Title 42 is Public Health and Welfare )4 vols.). The current edition is also available on FDSys.

Federal Register
U.S. Doc. AE 2.106, Ground Floor
Published five days a week, this contains news of Executive rules and all presidential proclamations, rules and regulations of the various bureaus and departments of the federal government, decisions of fact-finding bodies, and all proposed regulations. Material from 1994 to the present is available on FDSys. Only the most recent two years of the FR are retained in paper copy by the library.

Federal Register (online)
The official site from the National Archives. This is where all proposed and final federal regulations are first posted, with information on how to submit comments.

Pennsylvania Laws
The text of all Pennsylvania laws enacted since 1975, from the General Assembly.

Pennsylvania Code
This is the official compilation of Pennsylvania Commonwealth regulations.


ADDITIONAL REFERENCE SOURCES

Encyclopedia of Public Health
Sci Ref RA 423 .E53 2002
This 4-volume encyclopedia provides a solid overview of medical and policy issues.

Encyclopedia of Federal Agencies and Commissions
Ref. Balcony JK 9 .H536 2004
Good brief background, access and contact information.

Federal Regulatory Directory, 15th Edition
Ref. Balcony KF 5406 .A15F4 2012
Profiles of the major (and lesser) regulatory agencies, as well as the agencies affiliated with the cabinet-level departments. Each profile gives historical background on the agency, a review of important regulations, recent developments, and an outlook for the near future.

The Book of the States, 2011
Ref. Balcony JK 2403 .B6 2011
An annual directory, published by the Council of State Governments, that provides an administrative overview of state government. Contains data on state finances, programs, regulations, and intergovernmental affairs. With supplements.


ELECTRONIC RESOURCES

FDSys
A service of the US Government Printing Office and the Superintendent of Documents, the Federal Digital System provides access to a wealth of current government information. It includes online access to Presidential documents, public laws, Supreme Court opinions, and federal regulations. Searching is available across the many collections, or within each collection.

USA.Gov
A service that provides access to web pages of government agencies and to government services in general.

Regulations.Gov
Easy access to proposed federal regulations.

Department of Health and Human Services
The main government web site for all things health-related.

HealthCare.gov
How to understand the new law, find insurance options, and more.

U.S. Food and Drug Administration
Updated daily with announcements, reports, regulations. The Center for Drug Evaluation and Research is an important component of the FDA.

National Institutes of Health
The home page of the NIH provides links to 27 specialized institutes and centers.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Contains news items, statistics, and links to publications.

Thomas (Library of Congress)
The Library of Congress' electronic access to legislative information: bills, public laws, and committees.

CQ Weekly Reports
This publication updates the CQ Almanac with a weekly reporting and analysis of congressional activity. Provides text and summaries of major legislation. This is the best source for tracking the progress of a bill in congress and contains charts for "Bills to Watch" and "Status of Appropriations").

CQ (Congressional Quarterly) Researcher
Published in print and online 44 times a year, the single-themed CQ Researcher report offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Search for "health care," "stem cell," etc.

Social Sciences Full Text
Indexes and abstracts over 400 English-language periodicals in all areas of the social sciences, including politics and economics.

General Science Full Text
Journals and magazines from the U.S. and Great Britain, covering all major scientific fields. Good coverage of health topics. Indexing from 1984 to present, abstracting from 1993 to present.

Lexis-Nexis
Connections to full-text newspaper articles (including the New York Times), business information, and legal resources.

Catalog of Government Publications
An index of all federal government publications from 1976 to the present.

Last updated: 9/5/12 tk, contact Tom Karel for assistance - 291-3845.
 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223