Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


GOV 327: Latin American Politics



Selected International Organizations

UN - United Nations
IMF - International Monetary Fund
WB - World Bank
OECD - Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
Organization of American States
Greenpeace

General Reference Sources

Europa World Yearbook (2 vols.)
Ref. Desk D2 .E8 2010

International Historical Statistics: The Americas, 1750-2005
Ref. HA 175 .M55 2007

Encyclopedia of the Developing World (3 vols.)
Ref. HC 59.7 .E52 2006

Encyclopedia of Human Rights (5 vols.)
Ref. Balcony JC 571 .E673 2009



Selected Sources on the Region and Individual Countries

South American Handbook, 2011
Ref. F 1401 .S71 2011

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures (3 vols.)
Ref. F 1406 .E515 2000

Encyclopedia of Latin America (4 vols.)
Ref. F 1406 .E5155 2010s

South America, Central America, and the Caribbean 2011
Ref. F 1408.29 .S69 2011

Encyclopedia of Latin American Politics
Ref. F 1410 .E56 2002

Historical Dictionary of United States - Latin American Relations
Ref. F 1418 .S638 2007

Statistical Yearbook for Latin America and the Caribbean, 2009
Ref. HA 751 .A58 2009

Statistical Abstract of Latin America (2002)
Ref. HA 935 .S8 Vol. 38

Country Reports on Economic Policy and Trade Practices (annual; US State Dept.)
Ref. HF 1410 .C69

Amnesty International Repport 2010: The State of the World's Human Rights
Ref. Balcony JC 571 .A44 2010

Human Rights Watch: World Report 2011
Ref. Balcony JC 571 .H785 2011

Country Reports on Human Rights Practices, annual
Ref. Balcony JC 571 .U48
Compiled by the State Department for Congress. Also available online

World Encyclopedia of Political Systems and Parties, 3rd Ed. (3 vols.)
Ref. Balcony JF 2011 .W67 1999



Online Sources

Lexis-Nexis
Full-text newspapers, including the New York Times, Washington Post, and papers from other countries.

Social Sciences Full Text
Guide to the literature of the social sciences, 1983- present

EconLit
This is the major index to scholarly articles in Economics. Over 300 journals are included, as well as books, dissertations, and working papers. Covers 1969 to the present.

PAIS International
Public Affairs Information Service, updated monthly.

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. Includes full-text of articles, proceedings from conferences, books, journals, and policy briefs.

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
An index of all federal government publications from 1976 to the present.

International Financial Statistics *Limited to 5 Simultaneous Users.
A standard source of international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. The database contains approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries and areas.

IMF Country Reports
This includes economic and financial reports on all Latin American countries, from the International Monetary Fund.

U.S. Department of State
http://www.state.gov/
Contains the Background Notes for all countries. Click on the Countries tab.

United Nations
http://www.un.org/

Organization of American States
http://www.oas.org/

World Bank
http://www.worldbank.org/
Includes special reports on global economic prospects.

Country Studies (area handbook) Federal Research Division, Library of Congress
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/cshome.html
Good book-length background information on all of the countries.


Last updated: 9/13/11 tk, contact Tom Karel for assistance, 291-3845
 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223