Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


GOV 326: African Politics



Reference Sources on Africa

HISTORY & POLITICS

Encyclopedia of Precolonial Africa
Ref DT 2 .E53 1996

New Encyclopedia of Africa 5 vols.
Ref DT 2 .N48 2008

Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience 5 vols.
Ref DT 14 .A37435 2005

Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought 2 vols.
Ref DT 14 .O97 2010

Encyclopedia of the African Diaspora: Origins, Experiences, and Culture 3 vols.
Ref DT 16.5 .E53 2008

Pan-African Chronology...1400-1865 3 vols.
Ref DT 17 .J46 1996

African Biographical Dictionary
Ref DT 18 .B76 2006

The African Studies Companion: A Guide to Information Sources, 4th Ed.
Ref DT 19.8 .Z45 2006

Encyclopedia of African History 3 vols.
Ref DT 20 .E53 2005

Historical Dictionary of Civil Wars in Africa
Ref DT 21.5 .A76 2008

Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century African History
Ref DT 29 .E53 2003

The United States in Africa: A Historical Dictionary
Ref DT 38.1 .S53 1989

Africa: South Of The Sahara 2012
Ref DT 351 .A37 2012

Encyclopedia of Africa South of the Sahara 4 vols.
Ref DT 351 .E53 1997

- historical dictionaries, for most African countries
EX: Historical Dictionary of Algeria, Third Edition
Ref DT 283.7 .N39 2006

African Governance Report (UN Economic Commission for Africa)
Ref Balcony JQ 1875 .A55 P643 2005

Political Handbook of Africa 2007
Ref Balcony JQ 1875 .P63 2007

Elections in Africa: A Data Handbook
Ref Balcony JQ 1879 .A55 E44 1999

ECONOMICS

International Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia & Oceania, 1750-2005
Ref HA 4675 .M553 2007

World Development Indicators 2006 World Bank
Ref HC 59.15 .W656 2006

World Development Report 2013 World Bank
Ref HC 59.7 .W659 2013

African Development Report African Development Bank
Ref HC 800 .A1 A354 2008

African Development Indicators World Bank
Ref HC 800 .A1 A356 2006

African Economic Outlook OECD
Ref HC 800 .A11 A35625 2005-06

Contemporary African Politics and Development: A Comprehensive Bibliography, 1981-1990
Ref HC 800 .Z2C66 1994


General Reference Sources

Europa World Year Book 2013. 2 vols.
Ref Desk D 2 .E8 2013

Encyclopedia Of The Developing World 3 vols.
Ref HC 59.7 .E52 2006

Statesman's Yearbook 2013
Ref Desk JA 51 .S7

World Encyclopedia Of Political Systems And Parties, Third Edition 3 vols.
Ref Balcony JF 2011 .W67 1999

Oxford Companion to Politics of the World, Second Edition
Ref Balcony JA 61 .O95 2001

Encyclopedia of Democracy 4 vols.
Ref Balcony JC 423 .E53 1995

Country Reports on Human Rights Practices for 2010 (U.S. Dept. of State)
Ref Balcony JC 571 .U48 2010
The 2011 report is available online at the State Department's web page.


Indexes and Abstracts and Full Text

Social Sciences Full Text
Indexes over 300 English-language periodicals covering anthropology, economics, psychology, social work, sociology, and related fields. Covers 1983 to the present.

Catalog of Government Publications
An index of all federal government publications from 1976 to the present.

FDSys (Federal Digital System)
Provides access to government information such as laws, bills, the budget, committee hearings, and much more. Database produced by the Government Printing Office.

The Times Index (London) 1960-
Ref. AI / 21 / T46 (Microforms Room)
complete indexing of the London TIMES and its various supplements
full-text of articles from the past 10 years is available on LEXIS-NEXIS

Lexis-Nexis
Connections to newspaper articles from all over the world. For stories from African publications, first choose "Sources" from the menu at the top of the page, then select Africa from the pull-down menu. Next, select the News category and "newspapers" and a list of publications will appear. After you make selections from that list you can then do a search for a topic.

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. Includes full-text of articles, proceedings from conferences, books, journals, and policy briefs.

International Financial Statistics *Limited to 5 Simultaneous Users.
A standard source of international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. The database contains approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries and areas.

IMF Country Reports
This includes economic and financial reports on all African countries, from the International Monetary Fund.

World dataBank
A data source that includes information on the global economy, finance, gender, education, health, natural resources, and environmental indicators. This resource, published by the World Bank, contains statistical data for over 600 development indicators and time series data from 1960 to the latest compiled for over 200 countries as well as 18 country groups. Databases include Africa Development Indicators.


Internet Sites

Yahoo Africa Links
http://dir.yahoo.com/Regional/Regions/Africa/

U.S. Department of State
http://www.state.gov/

African Union
http://www.africa-union.org

Foundation for Democracy in Africa
http://democracy-africa.org

United Nations Development Programme
http://www.undp.org/

Last updated: 1/23/13 tk, contact Tom Karel for assistance, 291-3845
 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223