Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


GOV 324: East Asian Politics



I. GENERAL REFERENCE SOURCES

The Far East and Australasia, 2012
Ref. DS 1 .F3 2012
Contains chapters on each country of the region. A brief introductory survey is supplemented by a comprehensive statistical survey. This is a good, quick source for recent statistics on a country. Also, the text of the Constitution, a government directory, the diplomatic corps, the press, and trade organizations are included.

Columbia Chronologies of Asian History and Culture
Ref. DS 33 .C63 2000
A good source for tracing political events. Arranged by country.

World Factbook, annual
Ref. G 122 .U56A 2010 .U48
Compiled by the Central Intelligence Agency. Also available online

Economic and Social Survey of Asia and the Pacific 2010
Ref. HC 411 .E357 2010
Contains data and text.

Country Reports on Economic Policy and Trade Practices annual
Ref. HF 1410 .C69
Compiled by the State Department for Congress.

Country Reports on Human Rights Practices, annual
Ref. Balcony JC 571 .U48
Compiled by the State Department for Congress. Also available online

World Encyclopedia of Political Systems and Parties, 3rd Edition 3 vols.
Ref. Balcony JF 2011 .W67 1999
Contains detailed profiles for each country of the world.


II. SELECTED SOURCES ON CHINA

China: A Global Studies Handbook
Ref. DS 706 .C4893 2003

Brill's Encyclopedia of China
Ref. DS 755 .B86 2009
A good, recent one-volume overview of Chinese history, politics, and culture.

Encyclopedia of Modern China 4 vols.
Ref. DS 775 .E53 2009

Historical Dictionary of Modern China (1800-1949)
Ref. DS 775 .G368 2009

Political Leaders of Modern China: A Biographical Dictionary
Ref. DS 755.3 .P64 2002

Historical Dictionary of the People's Republic of China
Ref. DS 777.55 .s835 2007

China Today:: An Encyclopedia of Life in the People's Republic 2 vols.
Ref. DS 777.6 .C458 2005

Historical Dictionary of Chinese Foreign Policy
Ref. DS 777.8 .S88 2011

Historical Dictionary of the Chinese Cultural Revolution
Ref. DS 778.7 .G86 2006

China Documents Annual (1989 - )
DS 779.15 .C478 (in the general book stacks, not in Reference)
A collection of speeches, official statements and reports on political, military, social and economic issues.

China Facts & Figures Annual - Handbook (1990 - )
DS 779.15 .C48 (in the general book stacks, not in Reference)
Contains the full text of a variety of statistical reports.

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Chinese Culture
Ref. DS 779.23 .E5 2005

Historical Dictionary of Taiwan (Republic of China)
Ref. DS 798.96 .C67 2007


III. SELECTED SOURCES ON JAPAN

Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan 9 vols.
Ref. DS 805 .K633 1983

Japan: A Global Studies Handbook
Ref. DS 806 .E45 2002

Japan Encyclopedia (Harvard)
Ref. DS 821 .F73 2002

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Japanese Culture
Ref. DS 822.5 .E516 2002

Historical Dictionary of Postwar Japan
Ref. DS 889 .H569 2011


IV. SELECTED SOURCES ON KOREA

The Koreas: A Global Studies Handbook
Ref. DS 902 .C65 2002

Historical Dictionary of the Republic of Korea
Ref. DS 904.8 .N34 2004

Conflict in Korea: An Encyclopedia
Ref. DS 916 .H62 1999

Encyclopedia of the Korean War 3 vols.
Ref. DS 918 .E53 2010

Historical Dictionary of North Korea
Ref. DS 933.7 .K55 2003


V. ELECTRONIC RESOURCES

Lexis-Nexis
Connections to full-text newspaper articles (including the New York Times), business information, and legal resources. Asian news sources are included in "World News."

Social Sciences Full Text
Indexes and abstracts over 400 English-language periodicals in all areas of the social sciences, including politics and economics. Full-text of some articles are included.

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
Access to books, journal articles, and working papers, from 1991 to the present

PAIS International
Comprehensive subject index to periodical articles, books, government publications, and reports relating to economic and social conditions, public administration and global relations. Coverage is from 1972 to the present; updated monthly.

Country Studies (area handbook) Federal Research Division, Library of Congress
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/cshome.html
Good book-length background information on all of the countries.

U.S. Department of State
Includes press releases, embassy contacts, and Background Notes on other countries.

Congressional Committee Hearings
Provides links to the full text of the transcripts of selected House and Senate committee hearings, 1995 to the present. The House Committee on Foreign Affairs and the Senate Committee on Foreign Relations have held numerous hearings on China, Japan, and other Asian nations in recent years.

Association of Southeast Asian Nations
Established in 1967, this organization fosters regional peace, economic growth, and social progress among the member nations.

Asian Development Bank
This organization focuses on fighting poverty in Asia and the Pacific. Contains information on countries, projects, economics, and statistical data.

Last updated: 2/20/13 tk, contact Tom Karel for assistance
 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223