Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


GOV 250: Accessing Political Science Literature



I. REFERENCE SOURCES

Encyclopedia of Government and Politics, 2nd Ed. 2 vols.
Ref. Balcony JA 51 .C66 2004

American Political Scientists: A Dictionary, 2nd Ed.
Ref. Balcony JA 61 .A525 2002

Encyclopedia of Political Thought
Ref. Balcony JA 61 .E52 2001

Encyclopedia of Politics: The Left and the Right 2 vols.
Ref. Balcony JA 61 .E54 2005

Political Theory: An Encyclopedia of Contemporary and Classic Terms
Ref. Balcony JA 61 .P66 2009

Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Political Thought
Ref. Balcony JA 61 .S37 2007

A New Handbook of Political Science
Ref. Balcony JA 66 .N49 1996
A collection of 35 essays that give an overview of all major fields within the discipline.

Handbook of Political Theory
Ref. Balcony JA 71 .H313 2004

Information Sources of Political Science
Ref. Balcony JA 71 .Z4 2005
An extensive annotated listing of the major resources for political science.

Encyclopedia of Governance 2 vols.
Ref. Balcony JC 11 .E53 2007



II. ELECTRONIC RESOURCES

FDSys (Federal Digital System)
A service of the US Government Printing Office and the Superintendent of Documents, this provides access to a wealth of current government information. It includes online access to Presidential documents, public laws, Supreme Court opinions, and federal regulations.

Thomas (Library of Congress)
The Library of Congress' electronic access to legislative information: bills, public laws, and committees.

Federal Register (online)
The official site from the National Archives. This is where all proposed and final federal regulations are first posted, with information on how to submit comments.

Social Sciences Full Text
Indexes and abstracts over 400 English-language periodicals in all areas of the social sciences, including politics and economics.

PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service Bulletin)
Comprehensive subject index to periodical articles, books, government publications, and reports relating to economic and social conditions, public administration and global relations. Coverage is from 1972 to the present; updated monthly. An archival database, covering 1915-1976, is also available.

JStor
An archive of abstracts and full text articles from over 100 scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years. You can browse by discipline to find the major political science journals.

Catalog of Government Publications
An index of all federal government publications from 1976 to the present.


Last updated: 10/14/11 tk, contact Tom Karel for assistance - 291-3845.
 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223