Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


GOV 250: How to find political speeches and interviews



Print Resources

PUBLIC PAPERS OF THE PRESIDENTS
U.S. Docs GS 4.113: (1929-1931; 1945-1983)
U.S. Docs AE 2.114: (1984 - present)

Also available online (see below)
An annual compilation of all presidential documents, including speeches, interviews, and press conferences. Papers of earlier presidents can be found in the Library catalog.

CONGRESSIONAL RECORD
U.S. Docs X 1.1/A: (1921 - present
Older years (1833-1921) are on microfilm
Also available online (see below)
A daily transcript of all remarks and speeches made on the floor of Congress.



Electronic Resources

Lexis-Nexis
Connections to full-text newspaper articles (including the New York Times and Washington Post), business information, and legal resources. A good source for locating transcripts of TV and radio news shows.

NewsBank
Full-text access to major U.S. and international newspapers, including the Philadelphia Inquirer, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune.

FDSys (Federal Digital System)
The U. S. Government Printing Office's gateway to electronic government information. This replaces GPO Access.

COMPILATION OF PRESIDENTIAL DOCUMENTS
Online access, on a daily basis, to all Presidential speeches, remarks, interviews, and documents, starting on January 29, 2009. Earlier, weekly compilations are available back to 1993.

PUBLIC PAPERS OF THE PRESIDENTS
Covers 1991 to 2005, and 2009 from FDSys.

PUBLIC PAPERS OF THE PRESIDENTS
Covers 1929 to 2001; from the University of Michigan.

CONGRESSIONAL RECORD
Online access to the full-text from 1994 to the present.

CQ (Congressional Quarterly) Weekly Report
A weekly summary of congressional activity; contains excerpts from major speeches. Older years (1953 - 2004) are on microfilm


Last updated: 9/30/11 tk, contact Tom Karel for assistance, 291-3845
 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223