Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


GOV 250: United States Statistical Sources



United States Data

FedStats
Links to statistical data from over 100 federal agencies.

American Factfinder
Access to the latest population, housing, and economic data from the U. S. Census Bureau.

Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition 5 vols.
Ref. HA 202 .H57 2006

Datapedia of the United States, 4th Edition
Ref. HA 202 .K87 2007

Statistical Abstract of the United States: The National Data Book
Ref. HA 202 .U8 2011 (latest edition at the Reference Desk)
U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census
2012 edition is online. 1907 - 2010 volumes are in the general book stacks

Vital Statistics of the United States
Ref. HA 203 .A22 (located on the Periodicals Room balcony)
U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service
Published in 3 volumes: Natality, Mortality, Marriage & Divorce; also online

Statistical Insight
Covers the statistical publications of the U.S. Government and private organizations.



State and Local Data

County And City Data Book 2007
Ref. HA 202 .A36 2007
U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census

County And City Data Book Extra
Ref. HA 203 .C68 2008
U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census

State And Metropolitan Area Data Book 2010
Ref. HA 202 .A38 2010
U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census; also online

State Rankings 2008
Ref. HA 203 .S83 2008

Pennsylvania Abstract 2010
Ref. HA 607 .P4 2010
Pennsylvania State Data Center



Census Publications

Online Publications
Links to Census publications on numerous topics: population, business, economics, trade, transportation, etc.

2010 Census
Links to the Census 2010 data releases. More reports are forthcoming.

2000 Census
Links to all major Census 2000 data releases.

2000 Census Of Population And Housing (in print)
U.S. Docs. Census Collection
C 3.223/18:2000....
U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census
- Summary Population and Housing Characteristics - all 50 states
- Summary Social, Economic, and Housing Characteristics - selected states only

1990 Census
Links to all major 1990 Census data releases.

American Community Survey
This annual survey replaces the long form of the decennial census.

The Who, What, and Where of America: Understanding the American Community Survey
Ref. HA 201.122 .W48 2010



Economic Statistics

Survey of Current Business
Ref. HC 101 .A13 ­ monthly
U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of Economic Analysis; also online

Business Statistics of the United States
Business Statistics of the United States, 15th Edition
Ref. HC 101 .A13122 2010

Bureau of Economic Analysis, US Commerce Dept.
Current information on the United States economy.

Bureau of Labor Statistics, US Labor Dept.
Links to recent and historic data on consumer price indexes, employment, productivity, etc.

Economic Indicators
Ref. HC 101 .A186 ­ monthly
U.S. Congress, Joint Economic Committee; also online

Economic Report of the President
Ref. HC 106.5 .A47 - annual
The Presidentıs Council of Economic Advisors; also online

Budget of the U. S. Government
Ref. HJ 2051 .A2 - annual
Executive Office of the President, Office of Management and Budget; also online



Political Statistics

Vital Statistics on American Politics
Basic statistical information on American government and politics, this resource can serve as a fundamental reference tool for those who wish to stay informed about numerous aspects of American politics. You can view and search across all of our CQ resources here.

Vital Statistics on the Presidency: George Washington to George W. Bush
Ref. Balcony JK 518 .R34 2009

United States Presidential Primary Elections, 1968-1996: A Handbook of Election Statistics
Ref. Balcony JK 522 .C66 2000

America at the Polls: A Handbook of American Presidential Election Statistics 2 volumes: 1920-1956; 1960-2000
Ref. Balcony JK 524 .A73 1994

Vital Statistics on Congress
Ref. Balcony JK 1041 .V58 2008

Directory of Congressional Voting Scores and Interest Group Ratings 2 vols.
Ref. Balcony JK 1051 .S555 2000

America Votes
Ref. Balcony JK 1967 .A8 published every 2 years, starting in 1956

American National Election Studies Data Sourcebook, 1952-1986
Ref. Balcony JK 1967 .M54 1989



Social Statistics

American Social Attitudes Data Sourcebook, 1947-1978
Ref. HN 65 .A6819 1980

The Gallup Poll: Public Opinion
Ref. HN 90 .P8G3
volumes from 1935 to the present

Statistical Handbook of Women In America, 2nd Ed.
Ref. HQ 1420 .T34 1996

Crime in the United States: Uniform Crime Reports
U.S. Dept. of Justice, Federal Bureau of Investigation; 1995-present

Digest of Education Statistics
Ref. L 11 .D54 2009
U.S. Dept. of Education; also online

Health: United States
Sci. Ref. RA 407.3 .U57 2009 (Martin Library of the Sciences)
U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, National Center for Health Statistics; also online


Last updated: 11/9/11 tk, contact Tom Karel for assistance, 291-3845
 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223