Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


GOV 231: National Security Policy



Reference Sources

World Factbook (CIA), annual
Ref. G 122 .U56A 2010
Also available online

Encyclopedia of Arms Control and Disarmament (3 vols.)
Ref Balcony JX 1974 .E57 1993
Lengthy essays on a variety of topics. Vol. 2 contains chapters on arms control activity since 1945

Greenwood Encyclopedia of International Relations (4 vols.)
Ref Balcony JZ 1160 .N65 2002

International Relations, International Security, and Comparative Politics: A Guide to Reference and Information Sources
Ref Balcony JZ 1305 .K34 2008

American Treaties and Alliances
Ref Balcony KZ 236 2000

Oxford International Military Alliances (2 vols.)
Ref Balcony KZ 5900 .G53 2009

Penguin Encyclopedia of Modern Warfare: 1850 to the Present
Ref U 39 .M33 1991

Weapons of Mass Destruction: An Encyclopedia of Worldwide Policy, Technology, and History (2 vols.)
Ref U 793 .W427 2005
Vol. 1: Chemical and Biological Weapons. Vol. 2: Nuclear Weapons

Strategic Survey
Ref. U 162 .S77 2010 - most recent edition in Reference

SIPRI Yearbook: Armaments, Disarmament, and International Security, annual
Ref. UA 10 .S69A 2010
Compiled by the Stockholm International Peace Research Institute.

The Military Balance, annual
Ref. UA 15 .L65 2010 .U48
from the International Institute for Strategic Studies (London)

Researching National Security and INtelligence Policy
Ref UA 23 .C5135 2004

Encyclopedia of United States National Security (2 vols.)
Ref UA 23 .E571274 2006

U. S. National Security: A Reference Handbook
Ref UA 23 .W36397 2002



Indexes and Abstracts

Social Sciences Full Text
Indexes over 300 English-language periodicals covering anthropology, economics, psychology, social work, sociology, and related fields. Covers 1983 to the present.

PAIS International
Index to policy-oriented literature (books, journal articles and U.S. and foreign government documents). International coverage of information about political, economic and social issues and events in specific countries. Covers 1972 to the present.

Lexis-Nexis
Connections to full-text newspaper articles from all states(including New York Times and Washington Post), and major world news sources. Many publications can be searched back to the early 1980s.

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
An index of all federal government publications from 1976 to the present.

JStor
A collection of abstracts and articles from over 100 scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years.



Government Resources

U. S. Department of State

U. S. Department of Defense

Defense Security Service

National Security Agency (NSA)

National Military Strategy of the United States of America 2011
Released in February 2011, this report is 24 pages long.

Strategic Studies Institute (U. S. Army War College)
This site provides access to reports and ongoing research. A recent example is listed below.

National Security Reform 2010: A Midterm Assessment
This 212 page study was rleased in August 2011 by the Strategic Studies Institute.

Congressional Committee Hearings
Provides links to the full text of the transcripts of selected House and Senate committee hearings, 1995 to the present.

Foreign Relations of the United States
JX 233 .A3 (main stacks)
Published by the U. S. State Department, this series contains declassified memos and reports to and from U.S. embassies and other official documents. 1861 to the present.


Last updated: 9/21/11 tk, contact Tom Karel for assistance, 291-3845
 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223