Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


GOV 130: International Politics



Reference Sources

Europa World Year Book 2012
Ref Desk D 2 E8 2012
Contains chapters on each country of the world and the major international organizations. A brief introductory survey is supplemented by a comprehensive statistical survey. This is a good, quick source for recent statistics on a country. Also, the text of the Constitution, a government directory, the diplomatic corps, the press, and trade organizations are included.These volumes are kept at the Reference Desk.

Statesman's Yearbook 2012
Ref Desk JA 51 S7
An annual directory of international organizations and the countries of the world. The basic information is comparable to what is found in EUROPA, though EUROPA's statistical and directory sections are more comprehensive. This volume is kept at the Reference Desk.

World Development Report 2012
Re HC 59.7 .W659 2011
Published by the World Bank, each report covers a different topic.

European Union: Encyclopedia and Directory
Re HC 241.2 .E8334 2004

Amnesty International Report, 2012
Ref. Balcony JC 571 .A44 2012

Human Rights Watch: World Report 2012
Ref. Balcony JC 571 .H785 2021

Country Reports on Human Rights Practices, annual
Ref. Balcony JC 571 .U48
Compiled by the State Department for Congress. Also available online

Foreign Relations of the United States
JX 233 .A3 (main stacks)
Published by the U. S. State Department, this series contains declassified memos and reports to and from U.S. embassies and other official documents. 1861 to the present.

Encyclopedia of Arms Control and Disarmament (3 vols.)
Ref Balcony JX 1974 .E57 1993
Lengthy essays on a variety of topics. Vol. 2 contains chapters on arms control activity since 1945

Yearbook of the United Nations 2007
Ref Balcony JX 1977 .A37Y4 2007
A comprehensive overview of the official activities of the UN. The 7 sections of the Yearbook cover: political and security questions, regional questions and peacekeeping, human rights, economic and social questions, legal questions, administrative questions, and intergovernmental organizations.

Encyclopedia of International Relations and Global Politics
Ref Balcony JZ 1160 .E53 2005

Greenwood Encyclopedia of International Relations (4 vols.)
Ref Balcony JZ 1160 .N65 2002

International Relations, International Security, and Comparative Politics: A Guide to Reference and Information Sources
Ref Balcony JZ 1305 .K34 2008

Encyclopedia of Globalization (4 vols.)
Ref Balcony JZ 1318 .E63 2007

Europa Directory of International Organizations, 2003
Ref Balcony JZ 4838 .E94
Contains information on membership, governing structure, and activities.

Historical Dictionary of International Organizations, 2nd edition
Ref Balcony JZ 4838 .S34 2010
Includes a chronology of events and a historical overview.

International Organizations: A Dictionary and Directory
Ref Balcony JZ 4838 .S344 2001
Contains membership tables and a classified index of organizations.

Routledge History of International Organizations: From 1815 to the Present Day
Ref Balcony JZ 4839 .R45 2009

Guide to IGOs, NGOs, and the Military in Peace and Relief Operations
Ref Balcony JZ 4850 .A17 2000
Contains profiles and background information.

International Information, Second Edition
Ref Balcony JZ 4850 .I58 1997
A comprehensive guide to official documents, publications and electronic information provided by international organizations.

Oxford International Encyclopedia of Peace (4 vols.)
Ref Balcony JZ 5533 .O95 2010

Annual Review of Global Peace Operations 2011
Ref Balcony JZ 6374 .C25 2011

Encyclopedia of International Peacekeeping Operations
Ref Balcony JZ 6374 .R36 1999
Brief entries on places, topics, and people.

American Treaties and Alliances
Ref Balcony KZ 236 2000

Encyclopedia of the United Nations and International Agreements, 3rd Ed. (4 vols.)
Ref Balcony KZ 4968 .O84 2003
A major new resource covering all aspects of UN activities, including peacekeeping missions.

Key Resolutions of the United Nations General Assembly, 1946-1996
Ref Balcony KZ 5006.2 .K49 1997
Contains a section on the peacekeeping operations and disarmament.

Oxford International Military Alliances (2 vols.)
Ref Balcony KZ 5900 .G53 2009

Penguin Encyclopedia of Modern Warfare: 1850 to the Present
Ref U 39 .M33 1991

Strategic Survey
Ref. U 162 .S77 2011 - most recent edition in Reference

SIPRI Yearbook: Armaments, Disarmament, and International Security, annual
Ref. UA 10 .S69A 2010
Compiled by the Stockholm International Peace Research Institute.

The Military Balance, annual
Ref. UA 15 .L65 2010 .U48
from the International Institute for Strategic Studies (London)



Indexes and Abstracts

Social Sciences Full Text
Indexes over 300 English-language periodicals covering anthropology, economics, psychology, social work, sociology, and related fields. Covers 1983 to the present.

PAIS International
Index to policy-oriented literature (books, journal articles and U.S. and foreign government documents). International coverage of information about political, economic and social issues and events in specific countries. Covers 1972 to the present.

Lexis-Nexis
Connections to full-text newspaper articles from all states(including New York Times and Washington Post), and major world news sources. Many publications can be searched back to the early 1980s.

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
An index of all federal government publications from 1976 to the present.

Congressional Committee Hearings
Provides links to the full text of the transcripts of selected House and Senate committee hearings, 1995 to the present.

JStor
A collection of abstracts and articles from over 100 scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years.



Internet Resources

Yahoo - International Organizations Links
http://dir.yahoo.com/Government/International_Organizations/
Links to almost 400 web sites.

U.S. State Department
http://www.state.gov/

United Nations
http://www.un.org/

Freedom House
http://www.freedomhouse.org/template.cfm?page=1
Inlcudes online access to the annual Freedom in the World reports.

National Endowment for Democracy
http://www.ned.org/
Provides grants to prodemocracy organizations throughout the world.

African Union
http://www.africa-union.org

European Union
http://europa.eu

Multinational Force and Observers (MFO)
http://www.iaw.on.ca/~awoolley/mfo.html
A non-UN peacekeeping mission, operating in the Sinai Peninsula.

Non-Aligned Movement (NAM)
http://www.nonaligned.org/
Founded in 1961 by Tito, this group of developing nations advocates solutions to global economic problems.

Organization of American States
http://www.oas.org/

World Bank
http://www.worldbank.org/
Includes special reports on global economic prospects.

World Trade Organization
http://www.wto.org/

International Institute for Strategic Studies
http://www.iiss.org/publications/the-military-balance

Penn World Table
http://pwt.econ.upenn.edu/
economic indicators since 1950

Center for Systemic Peace (CSP)
http://www.systemicpeace.org/
Formed in 1997 to provide research on the problem of political violence, the CSP site has links to reports and data. Especially useful are datasets on armed conflict, regime authority characteristics, and the state fragility index.


Last updated: 9/20/12 tk, contact Tom Karel for assistance, 291-3845
 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223