Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


GOV 120: Comparative Politics



Selected International Organizations

UN - United Nations
IMF - International Monetary Fund
WB - World Bank
OECD - Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
Organization of American States
Greenpeace


General Reference Sources

Europa World Yearbook (2 vols.)
Ref. Desk D2 .E8 2012

International Historical Statistics: The Americas, 1750-2005
Ref. HA 175 .M55 2007

International Historical Statistics: Europe, 1750-2005
Ref. HA 1107 .M5 2007

International Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia, & Oceania, 1750-2005
Ref. HA 4675 .M553 2007

World Resources 2008: Roots of Resilience
Ref. HC 59 .W667 2008

Encyclopedia of the Developing World (3 vols.)
Ref. HC 59.7 .E52 2006

World Development Report 2012 (World Bank)
Ref. HC 59.7 .W659 2011

Encyclopedia of Nationalism: Leaders, Movements, and Concepts (2 vols.)
Ref. Balcony JC 311 .E4996 2001

Encyclopedia of Democracy (4 vols.)
Ref. Balcony JC 423 .E53 1995

Encyclopedia of Human Rights (5 vols.)
Ref. Balcony JC 571 .E673 2009

Handbook of National Legislatures: A Global Survey
Ref. Balcony JF 511 .F57 2009

Encyclopedia of Globalization (4 vols.)
Ref. Balcony JZ 1318 .E63 2007



Selected Sources on Countries

The Far East and Australasia 2012
Ref. DS 1 .F3 2012

The Middle East and North Africa 2012
Ref. DS 49 .M5 2012

Africa South of the Sahara 2012
Ref. DT 351 .A37 2012

South America, Central America, and the Caribbean 2012
Ref. F 1408.29 .S69 2012

World Encyclopedia of Political Systems and Parties, 3rd Ed. (3 vols.)
Ref. Balcony JF 2011 .W67 1999

Country Reports on Economic Policy and Trade Practices (annual; US State Dept.)
Ref. HF 1410 .C69

Amnesty International Repport 2012: The State of the World's Human Rights
Ref. Balcony JC 571 .A44 2012

Human Rights Watch: World Report 2012
Ref. Balcony JC 571 .H785 2012

Country Reports on Human Rights Practices, annual
Ref. Balcony JC 571 .U48
Compiled by the State Department for Congress. Also available online



Online Sources

Lexis-Nexis
Full-text newspapers, including the New York Times, Washington Post, and papers from other countries.

Social Sciences Full Text
Indexes over 300 English-language periodicals covering anthropology, economics, political science, psychology, social work, sociology, and related fields. Includes both Abstracts and Full Text Articles. Covers 1983 to the present.

EconLit
This is the major index to scholarly articles in Economics. Over 300 journals are included, as well as books, dissertations, and working papers. Covers 1969 to the present.

PAIS International
Public Affairs Information Service, updated monthly.

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. Includes full-text of articles, proceedings from conferences, books, journals, and policy briefs.

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
An index of all federal government publications from 1976 to the present.

International Monetary Fund
The IMF web site contains a useful section of data and reports, including the World Economic Outlook Reports.

IMF Country Reports
Economic and financial reports on all countries, from the International Monetary Fund.

U.S. Department of State
http://www.state.gov/
Contains the Background Notes for all countries. Click on the Countries tab.

United Nations
http://www.un.org/

Freedom House
http://www.freedomhouse.org/template.cfm?page=1
Inlcudes online access to the annual Freedom in the World reports.

National Endowment for Democracy
http://www.ned.org/
Provides grants to prodemocracy organizations throughout the world.

Non-Aligned Movement (NAM)
http://www.nam.gov.za/
Founded in 1961 by Tito, this group of developing nations advocates solutions to global economic problems.

Organization of American States
http://www.oas.org/

World Bank
http://www.worldbank.org/
Includes special reports on global economic prospects.

World dataBank
A data source that includes information on the global economy, finance, gender, education, health, natural resources, and environmental indicators. This resource, published by the World Bank, contains statistical data for over 600 development indicators and time series data from 1960 to the latest compiled for over 200 countries as well as 18 country groups. Databases include: World Development Indicators, Global Development Finance, Gender Statistics, Education Statistics, Health Nutrition and Population Statistics, Africa Development Indicators, Global Economic Monitor, and Millenium Development Goals.

Country Studies (area handbook) Federal Research Division, Library of Congress
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/cshome.html
Good book-length background information on all of the countries.


Last updated: 9/20/12 tk, contact Tom Karel for assistance, 291-3845
 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223