Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


GER 117: German Secrets



Possible topics:


Secrets; concealed events, qualities, realities; personal, social, national. From Siegfried the Dragon-Killer's mortal spot through the dark forests of fairytales, the revelations after the Third Reich and the Cold War, the course will examine the management of secrets in Germany's cultural and political narrative in German literature and film.
  • Fritz Lang
  • Leni Riefenstahl
  • November 9 (at least 3 different years)
  • July 20, 1944
  • 1848 and the Frankfurt Parliament
  • August 13, 1961
  • 1968 and the German student movement (Rudi Duschke and Daniel Cohn-Bendit)
  • Annette von Droste-Hulshoff
  • Heinrich von Kleist (Prussian values)
  • Ludwig Tieck
  • Richard Wagner (Ring of the Nibelungen)
  • The Brothers Grimm
  • Josef Goebbels
  • Albert Speer
  • Erich Honecker
  • Gunter Grass
  • Christa Wolf
  • The East German Stasi
  • The Gauck Commission & handling of the Stasi files
We will examine the "Waffen SS" - history, composition, influence, designs/future, outcomes and consequences. Wickipedia, yes that Wickipedia, is not a bad place to start. But once you've determined basic dates and context, you will want to explore MUCH more qualified resources.


Reference Resources & Books

Encyclopedia of the Third Reich
Ref DD 256.5 .G76313 1991 vols. 1-2

Encyclopedia of World War II
Ref DD 740 .E516 2005 vols. 1-4

Chronological Atlas of World War II
Ref G 1038 .m37 1989

Library Catalog
Try searching "words or phrase" first, then take a look at the various Subject Headings to lead you to related materials. Searches could be limited for location, such as Media Services for audio or video recordings.

Sample searches:

waffen AND ss
hitler AND war AND (military OR guard OR police)


Indexes and Abstracts

JSTOR
A collection of abstracts and articles from scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years. Always a stong History resource.

New York Times
The New York Times (Sep 18, 1851 - Dec 31, 2006, full-text) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

Historical Abstracts
Comprehensive international historical coverage (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Covers abstracts from 1955 to the present.

Last updated: 10/10/12 ag, contact Andy Gulati for assistance, 291-4261
 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223