Email/Text Us

ask.us@fandm.edu
Send an email or text the address above and we’ll answer ASAP.

Chat With Us

Send a Meebo message to : askusfandm
in the window at right. We’re online during the semester

Sunday 1-5pm, 7pm-2am
M-Th 11am-5pm, 7pm-2am
Friday 11am-5pm
Saturday 1-5pm

Ask Archives

Archives & Special Collections questions can be emailed to archives@fandm.edu

Sit Down With Us

Want more in-depth research guidance? Request a personalized research consultation with a librarian.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek, or the Circulation desk at Martin for research assistance, or call at:

Shadek-Fackenthal Library
   717-291-4217
Martin Library of the Sciences
   717-291-4331

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for answers to popular library & research questions.

Research Resources: Class Guides


GEO/ENV173: The California Gold Rush



Locating Books


Search the library catalog at the Books & More tab to find out what books, journals, newspapers, videos, maps, CDs, music, etc., the library owns.

NOTE: There are no journal articles in the catalog!

To find a book, begin by conducting a Keyword search our your topic. Analyze your topic or research question and break it down into its key concepts, which becomes the Keyword search. Once you have found a record for an item that looks useful, click on a Subject Heading to retrieve other items with similar content.


Background

AccessScience
Full access to more than 7100 articles, 115,000 definitions, 2,000 biographies, and research advances in science and technology. Updated daily.

Dictionary of Earth Sciences

Dictionary of Environment and Conservation

Encyclopedia of Soil Science

Oxford Companion to the Earth


Indexes & Article Collections

General Science Full Text
Journals and magazines from the U.S. and Great Britain, covering all major scientific fields. Indexing from 1984 to present, abstracting from 1993 to present.

GEOBASE
More than 500,000 records covering international literature on geology, geography, and ecology. Covers 1980 to present.

GeoRef
Nearly 2 million records about geology and earth sciences. Covers 1785 to the present (North America) and 1933 to the present (entire world).


Finding Journals and Interlibrary Loan (ILL)


To determine whether or not the F&M Library owns a journal, use the Journal Finder tab on the Library's homepage. If the library does not have a journal you need, and you have at least 1 week to 10 days before your assignment is due, you can submit an Interlibrary Loan request to have the journal article acquired for you by the library. Allow 3-7 days for the article to arrive.

If you have any questions, would like further assistance, etc, contact:

Pamela Snelson, College Librarian,
291-3896 or pamela.snelson@fandm.edu

Last updated: 8/1 ps/jb

 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223