Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


ENV 114a: Earth Environment & Humanity



Locating Books

Online Catalog
Try a variety of subject headings and keywords including: soil creep, landslides, environmental degradation, earthquakes-environmental aspects, groundwater management, nature-effect of human beings on, pollution-environmental aspects, "land and instability", "overpopulation and environment".


Background

Searches work on the F&M network. Use VPN to connect from off-campus.

Oxford Reference Online


Search Oxford Reference Online

Encyclopedia Britannica Online

AccessScience
Full access to more than 7100 articles, 115,000 definitions, 2,000 biographies, and research advances in science and technology. Updated daily.

Print Reference

Martin Library of the Sciences, 1st floor, right of entry

Atlas of Global Change
Sci Ref GE 149 .G4813 1998
Color photographs highlight the diversity of landscapes, structures, forms, and colors. Intended to raise our awareness of natural processes and the consequences of human intervention.

Encyclopedia of Biodiversity
Sci Ref QH 541.15 .B56 E53 2001
Covers plant and animal diversity, loss, change and range ecology.

Encyclopedia of Climate and Weather
Sci Ref QC854 .E523 1996

Encyclopedia of Earthquakes and Volcanoes
Sci Ref QE521 .R58 2001

Encyclopedia of Environmental Science
Sci Ref QH540.4 .E526 1999

Encyclopedia of Geology
Sci Ref GE5 .E516 2005

Encyclopedia of Global Change: Environmental Change and Human Society
Sci Ref GE149 .E47 2002

Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change
Sci Ref QC981 .G58 E47 2008

Encyclopedia of Population
Ref HB871 .E538 2003

Encyclopedia of Public Health
Sci Ref RA .E53 2002

Encyclopedia of the Biosphere
Sci Ref QH 343.4 .B5613 2000
Each volume address a different biome. Many color pictures and illustrations.

Geologocal Hazards: A Sourcebook
Sci Ref QE501.3 .K795 2003

Macmillan Encyclopedia of Earth Sciences
Sci Ref QE5 .E5137 1996

National Audubon Society Almanac of the Environment
Sci Ref GE 195.7 .H37
Subtitled the Ecology of Everyday Life. Chapters include Body, Home, Community, Land and Ocean, and Cultural Ecology. Written in a chatty, non-technical manner. Clearly biased toward the conservation movement. Indexed.

Oxford Companion to Global Change
Sci Ref GE149 .C84 2009

UNEP Year Book
Sci Ref TD194.6 .G46 2008


Popular Science Journals

Martin Library of the Sciences, 1st floor (New Periodicals), 2nd floor (Bound Periodicals).


Indexes & Article Collections

Newspaper and Magazine Collections

General Science Full Text
Journals and magazines from the U.S. and Great Britain, covering all major scientific fields. Indexing from 1984 to present, abstracting from 1993 to present.

Lexis-Nexis Academic
Connections to newspaper articles (including New York Times and Washington Post), business information (including SEC filings), and legal resources (including state and federal case law).

NewsBank
Full-text access to major U.S. and international newspapers, including the Philadelphia Inquirer, Chicago Tribune, and local Lancaster newspapers. Coverage varies, 5 to 20 years.

Journal Indexes

AGRICOLA
Over 2.9 million records covering every major agricultural subject. Compiled by the National Agricultural Library of the U.S. Department of Agriculture. Covers 1970 to the present.

Biological Abstracts
A comprehensive reference database covering life sciences journal literature. Covers over 4,200 journals from 100 countries with dates from 1926 to the present. Enables simultaneous searching with Web of Science and Medline.

GeoScience World
A comprehensive internet resource for research and communications in the geosciences, built on a core database aggregation of peer-reviewed journals indexed, linked, and inter-operable with GeoRef.

Web of Science (ISI)
The Institute of Scientific Information's premier citation databases in the physical, life, and social sciences. Search for articles that cite a known author or work or by standard search queries.

Web of Science is a citation index. After you find an article, you can look up the references cited by that article or more recent articles based on the original article. Covers 1970 to the present.

Web of Knowledge

Search Web of KnowledgeSM
   

Copyright 2010 Thomson Reuters   


PAIS International
Index to policy-oriented literature (books, journal articles and U.S. and foreign government documents). International coverage of information about political, economic and social issues and events in specific countries. Covers 1972 to the present.

Full-text and Full-text Collections

The Library provides access to many journals online and in print.

For best results:
1. Find a citation. Use Web of Science, Biological Abstracts, or other indexes (above).
2. Go to Journal Finder and enter the journal title in the E-Journal Portal.
3. From the results, navigate to the journal title, year, volume, issue and page number of the article.
4. If the no results appear, try the Journal Finder Journals List (top search box).
5. If the Library does not subscribe to the journal (or your article), you may be able to get it through Interlibrary Loan.

Popular full-text sources are listed below:

BioOne
Searchable full text aggregation of more than 154 bioscience research journals. The titles are published by scholarly societies and have formerly been available in print.

JSTOR
A collection of abstracts and articles from over 1500 scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years.


Government Resources

EPA
Links to Environmental Protection Agency's web site.

EPA's Global Change Site

United States Global Change Research Program
Integrates federal research on climate and global change.

USA.gov
Links to federal agency web sites.

Science.gov
Searches authoritative U.S. government science information including R&D.

GPO Access
An index for federal publications that provides direct links to those documents that are available online. Covers July 1976 to the present.


Internet Resources

Criteria to consider when evaluating Web sites:

    1. Authority: Who is responsible for the content? Are they an expert on the topic? Does the author identify her/him/them-self?

    2. Objectivity: Why was the site created? Is the information presented with a minimum of bias? Is the site meant to persuade the reader?

    3. Content: What is presented? Is the content focused, or does it stray all over the place? Is the site appropriate for research/scholarly purposes? Is the design of the site more important than the content?

    4. Accuracy: Does the site feature a list of sources, or bibliography, or links to other similar sites? Are other authorities cited?

    5. Currency: Is the web site current? Is it currently being maintained? Is there indication of when it was last updated anywhere on the page?

* TIP: When using a web site for research, print a copy of the first page for verification. Web sites come and go easily!



Last updated: 9/13/11 le, contact Laura Eiford for assistance, 291-3843

 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223