Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


FND 194: Metamorphosis and "Monsters": Transforming Ourselves


Monster: A person or animal that is abnormally formed; One that is extraordinarily large and powerful; A perversely bad, cruel, or wicked person. [Monster. (2003). In Roget's II The New Thesaurus. Boston, MA: Houghton Mifflin. Retrieved October 31, 2008, from http://www.credoreference. com/entry/6735909/.]



EVALUATE SOURCES

Use this link to learn how to evaluate sources and distinguish among "scholarly," "general interest," "popular," and "sensationalist" materials.


REFERENCE SOURCES

Folklore : An Encyclopedia of Beliefs, Customs, Tales, Music, and Art
REF GR35 .F63 1997 vols. 1-2

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of World Folklore and Folklife
REF GR35 .G75 2005 vols. 1-4

Storytelling Encyclopedia : Historical, Cultural, and Multiethnic Approaches to Oral Traditions Around the World
REF GR72 .S76 1997

Spirits, Fairies, Gnomes, and Goblins : an Encyclopedia of the Little People
REF GR549 .R65 1996

The Encyclopedia of Monsters
REF P96.M6 R68 1989

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Science Fiction and Fantasy : Themes, Works, and Wonders
REF PS374 .S35 G74 2005 vols. 1-3

Credo Reference
A digital reference library that places a world of factual information at your fingertips. Containing 100 high-quality reference books from the world's leading publishers: dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, and books of quotations, not to mention a host of subject-specific titles covering everything from the arts and literature to technology.

Gale's Literary Index
Master index to the major literature products published by Gale. It combines and cross-references over 159,000 author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and listings for over 210,000 titles into one source.

Oxford Reference Online
The largest, most up-to-date, authoritative, and accessible reference work in the world. This huge resource contains almost 2 million words and phrases from Oxford's English language and bilingual dictionaries. Individual Oxford titles may be found amongst our Electronic Resources - By Subject pages.



INDEXES & ARTICLE COLLECTIONS

Anthropology Plus
This resource is the combination of Anthropology Index and Anthropological Literature. Provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Covers over 2500 journals, 19th century to the present. Updated quarterly.

Film and Television Literature Index
A comprehensive bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.

Humanities Full Text
Indexes over 300 English-language periodicals covering classical studies, history, literature, performing arts, philosophy, and related fields. Covers 1984 to the present.

MLA Bibliography
The Modern Language Association's index of articles, book chapters and essays in literature, languages, and folklore. Covers 1963 to the present.

Religion Index (ATLA)
Comprehensive database in religious and theological scholarship. Includes index citations, journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews from ATLA's print indexes: Religion Index One (RIO), Religion Index Two (RIT), and Index to Book Reviews in Religion (IBRR). Covers from 1949 to the present.

Social Sciences Full Text
Indexes over 300 English-language periodicals covering anthropology, economics, political science, psychology, social work, sociology, and related fields. Includes both Abstracts and Full Text Articles. Covers 1983 to the present.

Sociological Abstracts
Full version comprehensive database of over 1500 journals covering sociology, social work, and other social sciences. Covers 1963 to the present.

JOURNALS, MAGAZINES & NEWSPAPERS AND INTERLIBRARY LOAN (ILL)

To determine whether or not the F&M Library owns a journal, use the Journals feature on the Library's web site. If the library does not have a journal you need, and you have at least 1 week - 10 days before your assignment is due, you can submit an Interlibrary Loan: request journal articles & books (ILL) request to have the journal article acquired for you by the library. Allow 3-7 days for the article to arrive.



F&M LIBRARY CATALOG & E-Z BORROW: BOOKS

Search the catalog to find out what books, journals, newspapers, videos, maps, CDs, music, etc., the library owns.
NOTE: There are no journal articles in the catalog!

E-Z Borrow
A free book-exchange service among academic libraries in Pennsylvania. If F&M's copy of a book you want is unavailable, try E-Z Borrow to get the book quickly!

[Requires your F&M ID barcode number.]

If you have any questions, concerns, etc., please contact:
Andy Gulati (andy.gulati@fandm.edu)
717-291-4261

Last updated: 10/30/08 jb,rs
 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223